Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – September 2016

img_1584

Over a week late with GBBD, but I still wanted to post as a record for me.  (I’m not sure having my daughter home is conducive to blogging!)

Whilst the raised cutting beds have been pretty hopeless this year due to lack of water,  the Zinnia above Z. elegans ‘Luminosa’ is doing well, whilst these Diascia personata, grown from cuttings last year, are going mad.  I mean to move them into the Swing Beds, but life keeps getting in the way.img_1585

In the Swing Beds the Nicotiana mutablis are starting to get going, but were definitely planted out too late to make the impact I was after.img_1597

They’ve been joined by Scabiosa atropurpurea ‘Blue Cockade’, also grown from seed, shown here with Aster frikartii Monch. img_1601

Further blue is provided by the lovely Caryopteris x clandonensis ‘Heavenly Blue’. Apparently this can be propagated by cuttings, so I really should try to make some more as I love it.img_1600

Elsewhere there are still roses going strong – R. Flower Carpet Pink,img_1582

R. Jubilee Celebrationimg_1618

and R. Munstead Wood.img_1614

Joining the rose above in the Mid Century Bed are Antirrhinum majus nanum ‘Black Prince’ (not looking very black to me!)img_1610

Amaranthus caudatusimg_1615

and Dahlia ‘La Recoleta’.img_1613

Whilst the Grass Bed was supposed to be taken over by Ammi visnaga ‘Green Mist’ and this lovely Cosmos, C. bipinnatus ‘Fizzy White’img_1603

instead it’s been rather overwhelmed by self seeded Nasturtiumsimg_1606

and this grass, which I’m sure I originally grew from seed a couple of years ago, but now can’t remember the name of.  Help!img_1608

In the veg bed, this Lathyrus ‘Heathcliff’ must be one of the very last Sweet Peas.img_1592

In the greenhouse, the Plumbago is still flowering wellimg_1588

and has been joined by the Mandevilla Sundaville Pink.  Some of you might remember these rather gaudy plants were bought at Hampton Court Flower Show to go in pots with the wonderful Pelargonium Surcouf, but I couldn’t bear to plant them together as they weren’t quite the same pink.  Consequently, they’ve been left in the greenhouse, repotted twice, and are absolutely thriving.  Shame I’m now not sure I actually like them!img_1587

To finish this cheeky orange Diascia.  I bought this as a plug plant months ago and it’s in a pot by the front door and has been in almost constant flower ever since.  Gotta love a bit of bedding!img_1628

With thanks to Carol at May Dreams Gardens who hosts everyone’s GBBD (on the, er, 15th of the month!)

6 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – September 2016

  1. Pingback: In a vase on Monday -in my cups! | Duver Diary

  2. Pingback: Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – October 2016 | Duver Diary

Leave a comment