In a Vase on Monday – A very important visitor!

IMG_6811

Sunday was a VERY special day chez Duver Diary, as we welcomed none other than Rambling in the Garden’s Cathy – our very own IaVoM Queen Bee – accompanied by the golfer, for lunch.   (nb That’s ‘my’ golfer in the photo, not hers!)IMG_6805 (2)

The outdoor arrangement was meant to be celebratory, but it was also supposed to (vaguely!) match the napkins.  It was made up of a general melee of dahlias (‘Roxy’ and ‘Happy Single Date’), Diascia ‘Green Wicky’, Helenium, Zinnia ‘Queen Red Lime’ and first ever pickings of Anisodontea (I think) ‘El Royo’.  I planted two quite large plants of this towards the back of the Swing Beds and, having now settled in well, they were ready for the chop!IMG_6809

Inside, for the kitchen table, I made a softer arrangement of more Zinnias, together with Rosa ‘Jubilee Celebration,’ Phlomis foliage and some grass heads, which I think are a Pennisetum.  I thought I’d grown them originally from Special Plants seeds, but she no longer seems to have them for sale, so perhaps I’m mistaken.  Anyway, Cathy was rather taken with them, so I dug up a clump for her to take with her, along with a couple of ‘Surcouf’ Perlargoniums.

However, on the plant swap subject, I was definitely ahead!  The purpose of this photo was to capture both the arrangement and the wonderful stash of plant goodies perched on the windowsill outside which Cathy had brought for me – a Gaura, Persicaria, Verbascum AND foxgloves – lucky me!IMG_6808

We had a very jolly lunch and, for those of you who haven’t met her (and I now understand there are more than a dozen bloggers who have!) she’s every bit as lovely as you would expect.

Thanks as ever for hosting Cathy!

7 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday – A very important visitor!

  1. Cathy

    Aw, what a lovely post Jenny! It was indeed a lovely day – I will be in touch properly soon but we came home early today and I am off visiting tomorrow, as you might have guessed. The arrangement looks even prettier from above, dosn’t it? Glad to know the plants were appreciated, as indeed were mine 😊

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Six on Saturday: Here and There | Rambling in the Garden

  3. digwithdorris

    Pretty arrangement for such nice guests. Having met Cathy a couple of times now and received such generous support and encouragement from her and the Golfer last year when I opened my garden for the first time I couldn’t agree with you more, our IVOM host is just lovely!

    Reply

Leave a comment