Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – October 2016

img_1766

Not many new blooms compared to last month’s GBBD, but I thought I’d share this lovely Abutilon, A. ‘Orange Marion.’

Other Autumn tinted blooms include this Helenium.  I think I’ve previously said it’s ‘Moerheim Beauty’, but I’m starting to think it’s ‘Sahin’s Early Flowerer’ instead.  img_1760

The rest of the garden is still largely pink.  Many Salvias, including ‘Dyson’s Scarlet’, ‘Cerro Potosi’ and ‘Stormy Sunrise.’

Asters are still blooming well, this one, Aster novae-angliae ‘Sptember Ruby’img_1780

and this Aster frikartii ‘Monch’.img_1779

I was delighted to discover during a weekend clear out that I had taken some cuttings last year.  Hurrah!img_1764

Whilst the Pink Flower Carpet roses are still flowering prolifically, img_1751

other roses are more of an individual treat – R. St Swithun,img_1777

R. ‘Jubilee Celebration’img_1791

and this, very precious R. ‘Freeman 1987.’  This isn’t the most robust rose, but very special at it was bought and named for us by our two lovely ‘kids’ in recognition of our silver wedding anniversary in 2012.img_1794

A number of Dahlias are still clinging on, indeed some are returning after a recent drought induced pause, including ‘Hillcrest Royal’img_1792

‘La recoleta’img_1784

And, according to Sarah Raven, these are both ‘Tamburo’, but I feel the second is an imposter!img_1754

img_1753

As far as annuals are concerned, sadly the majority have given up the ghost, I think due to drought.  However, this tobacco plant, Nicotiana mutablis is doing a good job of lighting up the back of the Swing Beds.img_1774

I love this shrub, Anisodontea capensis, but it has now got very leggy.  According to the RHS it’s normally grown in a cool greenhouse – thank goodness I hadn’t read that when I planted it!  The RHS also suggests it can be propagated either by seed in spring or semi ripe cuttings in summer.  I think it might be time to make some new babies so that the mother ship can be ‘retired’.img_1790

And to finish, a few Nerine bowdenii.  These were inherited with the house, and always surprise me with their exoticism at such a grey time of the year.

I can’t quite work out whether I want more or not.  What do you think?img_1762

With thanks to Carol at May Dream Gardens who hosts everyone’s GBBDs.

10 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – October 2016

  1. AnnetteM

    You still have lots of lovely dahlias and roses out as well as the usual autumn flowers. I would agree that your helenium is too yellow for Moerheim Beauty, mine is very orange. Unless it comes in different shades, of course. I agree with you about Nerine bowdenii. They can make a lovely splash of colour, but are very – er – garish. There are some much nicer ones that I have seen,on The Blooming Garden site, though they are not so hardy. Maybe you could try them though were you live. https://thebloominggarden.wordpress.com/2014/10/11/nerines-october-jewels/

    Reply
  2. Chloris

    Your own rose? How romantic. You still have nice dahlias, lovely colours. Of course you must have more nerines. A girl can never have too many nerines.

    Reply
  3. Sam

    Lots of beautiful blooms here. I know what you mean about Nerine bowdenii but I quite like them if they’re in the right place with a good foil – grasses work well. The buds are lovely, it’s a shame they’re so frilly and fussy when they emerge!

    Reply
  4. Cathy

    Seeing your tiny cuttings flowering gives me more optimism for the progress of all the cuttings (no asters though) I have taken – were yours taken last autumn? Must try again with heleniums…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

