In a vase on Monday -in my cups!

img_1738

Today’s vase was actually put together on Saturday, to take to our lovely neighbours as they had invited us for supper.  The title relates to their reliable generosity with the drinks.  I  won’t elaborate further.  Hic.

The vase started with just ‘bruised’ flowers emanating from the Mid Century bed, but they looked almost too dark and so were enlivened with some brighter pink from the Flower Carpet roses.

The dahlia is ‘La Recoleta’img_1739

and, here again, but showing an older bloom with its centre exposed, joined by a single stem of Rosa ‘Munstead Wood’ and backed by some new growth of Cerinthe major purpurescens.

img_1742

The Antirrhinums were grown from seed and are finally getting going.  This one is Antirrhinum majus nanum ‘Black Prince.’img_1741

Here’s the grass I mentioned in GBBD, which Nick identified as Pennisetum ‘Red Buttons,’img_1740

and lastly, the fabulously glossy seed pods of Dolichos lablab ‘Ruby Moon’ which I’m rather obsessed with!img_1743

With many thanks to Cathy who hosts IaVoM – and of course M and J for a fabulous evening!

10 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday -in my cups!

  1. karen

    Delicious! I love those rich colours. I particularly love the dahlia and the purple beans. Will add them to my planting list for next summer. Thanks for the inspiration

    Reply
  2. Eliza Waters

    Lovely wine colors – a rich autumn palette! I’m a fan of hyacinth bean, too. I save my seed from year to year. They were esp. prolific this year – they loved the heat!

    Reply
  3. Cathy

    Oh yes, lovely bruised colours – and that bean is astonishing, must look it up as I haven’t come across it. Is it easy to grow? What size (height and width) do your Flower Carpet get to? I am planning to remove my Magic Carpet from theor pots where they have struggled but I a not sure where else I can use them – are yours in a bed of their own or are they underplanted? Hoping for another flush on my Munstead Wood – love that rose! Thanks for sharing

    Reply
  4. Kris P

    That ‘La Recoleta’ dahlia is GORGEOUS! I love all those dark, moody colors that you brilliantly accented with the bright pink Flower Carpet roses.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

