West Dean again :)

IMG_1526

I was back at beautiful West Dean on Saturday attending a one day course on Propagation.  Whilst it was interesting, I’m not sure I learnt a massive amount, but it is always such a pleasure to visit.  The grounds are immaculate whatever the time of year, and so it was on Saturday.

The glasshouses were full of fabulously ordered rows of this and that.  Here tomaotes,

IMG_1521

I took quite a shine to this beauty, ‘Monserrat’IMG_1524

and this enormous Snake Gourd.IMG_1522

IMG_1528

IMG_1520

The smell in this glass house was unbelievable!IMG_1519

In the walled garden the purple and yellow borders were still looking fabulous.IMG_1529

Just look at this planting combination.

IMG_1530

I was particularly taken with this Verbena which was used repeatedly on the corners.  All of the plants were absolutely smothered in blooms.  I can’t help feel this would look a darn site more interesting in the front of my Swing Beds than the current geraniums with not a flower in sight!  (Note too the perfectly matched Penstemon)IMG_1531

Into the Cutting Garden and the colours are much hotter,IMG_1527

including a whole bed of stunning Zinnias.  Phwoar!

IMG_1511

These three particularly caught my eye – ‘Coral Beauty’, ‘Oriole’ and ‘Cupcake Lime and Lime Red’ (together).

Another fabulous bed, this time of Dahlias.IMG_1500

Clockwise from top left ‘Dark Star’, ‘New Baby’, ‘Summer Night’ and, very similar to ‘Dark Star’ but with rounder petals, ‘Bishop of Auckland’.

And finally a picture of the two plants I took cuttings from as part of the course – Salvia ‘Ember Wishes’IMG_1533

and Fuschia thymifolia.IMG_1534

If  none of my cuttings take I really won’t mind.  I still met some lovely people and had a fabulous day at one of my very favourite gardens.  Thanks West Dean, I’ll be back.IMG_1492

 

 

9 thoughts on “West Dean again :)

  1. Cathy

    Wow and wow again – those Zinnias and dahlias! I saw verbena like this in one of the gardens I went to recently and took a photo to try and identify which variety it might be as the effect was stunning. Do let me know if you learn which variety it was

    Reply
      1. Cathy

        Thanks for that – I have looked that up and there are also some deeper ones as well like ‘Santos Purple’; some of them are actually tender perennials and I recall there was a recent-ish article in The Garden about verbenas so I will go back and take a look

  2. Chloris

    Oh lucky you, this is one of my favourite gardens and it looks wonderful whenever you go. The greenhouses are amazing. Thanks for the great pictures.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – pretty in pink! | Duver Diary

  4. Pingback: End of month view – June 2018 | Duver Diary

Leave a comment