In a vase on Monday – pretty in pink!

IMG_1578

Today’s vase is a celebration of my daughter’s homecoming (as well as her 19th birthday in July, which, for the first time, she celebrated without me).

She finished her first year at uni in June, and was then home for less than 24 hours before flying to America to work in a holiday camp and then travel.  It’s so lovely to have her home, although the chaos that surrounds her is rather less welcome!

After the gorgeous display of Zinnias at West Dean I’m chuffed to be able to show off a couple of mine.  These are both supposed to be Zinnia elegans ‘Luminosa’ as the other one I grew was ‘Queen Red Lime’ which is a lot greener, but is yet to flower.IMG_1571IMG_1572

To these I added the lovely smelling roses Rosa ‘Jacques Cartier,’ (with Euphorbia myrsinites behind)IMG_1570

Diascia personata,IMG_1575

and the same two white species from last week, Cosmos bipinnatus ‘Fizzy White’IMG_1573

and Ammi visnaga ‘Green Mist’.IMG_1574

With thanks to Cathy who hosts this lovely meme.

6 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – pretty in pink!

  1. Cathy

    There was a distinct ‘poof’ when I opened your post and saw your lovely vase – You had warned us it was pink but it was a delightful sight for sore eyes that briefly took my breath away. I have Z luminosa but it is still reluctant to flower and my Ammi visnaga has several heads on short stems and has not been especially conducive to cutting so it is lovely to see yours. Such a gentle vase – and a subtle abundance of blooms too. I hope you continue to enjoy your daughter’s presence for the short time before she goes back to Uni

    Reply
  2. Sam

    Very pretty indeed. My daughter (who’s 12) also leaves a trail of chaos in her wake. I’m sure it’s completely worth the mess to have your daughter home for a while 🙂

    Reply
  3. pbmgarden

    Gorgeous flowers, so fresh and perfect. Sounds like your daughter is having great adventures. Mine is here for an all too brief visit and I’m savoring every minute.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

