In a vase on Monday – purple prose

photo (2)

I don’t think I’m actually predisposed to purple prose, either here or more especially at work, but I liked the title and it went with the colour and the positioning next to my computer.

This is not this Monday’s vase, it was actually last Monday’s, but I enjoyed it on my desk last week and missing out on IaVoM makes me sad, so I hope you’ll excuse me if I sometimes post a week in arrears.  My desk arrangements seem to be getting bigger as the choice of cutting blooms grows so  I’ll soon need to restrain myself to ensure there’s still room for my keyboard!

This vase (mug) consisted of pickings from my satellite cutting garden down the road.  The flowers were all grown from seed and planted out back in May.  There was Cosmos Double Click Snow Puff (also featured in last week’s vase with the sunflowers),

photo 2 (1)

Salvia horminum ‘Oxford Blue’,photo 3

some lovely purple veined sweet peas (which I have to confess I didn’t plant) and lastly, one of my favourite cutting blooms, Molucella laevis.  I just love green flowers, and these ones are magical. Mine are always a bit short compared to the ones you buy in the florist, but as I rarely make huge bunches (much too tricky!) it really doesn’t matter.

Bells of Ireland?  Ding dong!

photo 1

With thanks as ever to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden for hosting this lovely meme.

22 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – purple prose

  1. Christina

    Purple is a favourite colour for a vase, but I don’t have enough purple flowers, I planted Bells of Ireland this year; mine were short too and have died back now so there isn’t a chance they’ll grow tall. The colour of that Salvia is sumptuous!

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Thanks Susie, yes, I really enjoy having some green on my desk as I have a rather grey outlook! I’m also entertained by the odd bug which emerges and keeps me company. Is that weird?

      Reply
  2. Julie

    What a lovely bunch of flowers you had on your desk!! The Bells of Ireland are a real favourite of mine and I love the annual clary and cosmos at this time of year – you just can’t stop them flowering. I think you should post your desk arrangements every week – although is they get to big you might have trouble working on your computer.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Julie, well I took photos of this week’s arrangement on my iPad this morning, so hopefully I’ll post next Monday. It does feel a bit strange to be a week behind, but there are so many other things I’m behind on I don’t think I’m going to let this one trouble me!

      Reply
  3. Cathy

    Oh so lovely, Jen! My molucella were tiny too and I wasn’t sure whether to bother again. Perhaps you have persuaded me. My clary sage is almost over but i have cut it back a little to see if it brings more blooms – I love these ones. Thanks for sharing, as I am sure your colleagues will say too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

