Osborne House revisited

IMG_8163

Some of you may remember my previous visit to Queen Victoria’s summer residence, Osborne House, in March when there was plenty to see despite it being early in the year.  More importantly, there was plenty of promise to draw me back, so, on Saturday, back I went.

It really was the most glorious day and the walled garden was completely transformed from spring time.  Not only were the agapanthus stupendousIMG_8128

and the greenhouses groaning with potsIMG_8126

but what I’d really come to see were the annuals.

Remember this?IMG_6150

Well it became this:IMG_8136

Huge drifts of white Antirrhinum, Cosmos Purity, Molucella laevis, Ammi majus and white sweet peas.  Wow.

And in the opposite corner, a more colourful mixIMG_8120

of Cosmos, Echium vulgare Blue BedderIMG_8122

and Larkspur ‘Fancy Purple Picotee’.IMG_8123

Out of the walled garden walking north towards the house, I came across this magnificent cork oak, Quercus SuberIMG_8143

and look who planted it.IMG_8144

Round the house to the north side is the extensive terrace.  Here the planting was even bolder and the colours really sang on such a glorious day.IMG_8153

IMG_8151

IMG_8147

IMG_8154

Happily this time the Solent was much more visible than in March, so we decided to walk down to Queen Victoria’s beach for a closer look, taking in more agapanthus and pots on our way…

IMG_8157

On the way I noticed this bench I’d never spotted before:IMG_8186

Did you ever see the fabulous film ‘Mrs Brown’ with Judi Dench and Billy Connolly?  It was all about the relationship between John Brown and Queen Victoria after the death of Albert.  A lovely film, beautifully acted.

So to the beach and Queen Victoria’s bathing hut.  These huts were wheeled down to the water in the Victorian period so that the ladies could bathe without the indignity of having to wander down the beach in their (near) altogether.  Sounds pretty appealing to me, particularly if the beach is pebbly!IMG_8169

And here is the beach she swam from, looking particularly pretty with numerous yachts on the Solent sailing on the first day of the Cowes Week regatta.

I have to confess there was also a deckchair and an ice cream involved in my enjoyment of this view.IMG_8171

 

5 thoughts on “Osborne House revisited

  1. Julie

    Looks like you had a great day out!! Those agapanthus are stunning and I just loved seeing the beautiful annuals. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  2. Christina

    Fabulous, I would love to visit , I remember when they started the restoration. I’m about to plant a Quercus suber here, I’ve already chosen one. I won’t see it as large as this one but then neither did Prince Albert. The white cutting beds looked fabulous, so much work in dead heading. Agapanthus may be one of the few flowering plants that will flower in July here so I think I may have to invest in more.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      I don’t think I’ve ever seen Agapanthus looking so good in this country. It gives me hope for all the ones I’ve grown from seed that aren’t flowering – yet!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Yearly round up – 2015 | Duver Diary

Leave a Reply

