In a vase on Monday – Moonflowers

IMG_8064

Fresh from our trip to Amsterdam where we saw Van Gogh’s Sunflowers at the wonderful Van Gogh museum, it had to be sunflowers.  However, my ones are smaller and paler, so I’ve called them moonflowers instead (and it was practically dark by the time I got round to photographing the arrangement!)

I’ve grown two pale sunflowers this year, Helianthus Italian White, and Helianthus Vanilla Ice, and the joke is, I can’t tell the difference between them.

IMG_8067

IMG_8069

To these I added a Cosmos new to me this year – Cosmos Double Click Snow Puff.  I really liked the magenta pink version, Double Click Cranberries, last year, and so thought I’d try the white one. They’re a little taller than Cosmos Purity at around 1.2m, but equally free flowering.  I like the way the degree of ‘doubleness’ varies flower by flower.

IMG_8066

IMG_8065

Once I’d photographed the jug outside, I brought it inside and it’s looking very fullsome and jolly on the kitchen table.

With many thanks to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden who hosts this lovely meme.

24 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – Moonflowers

  1. Cathy

    Oh wow! I want pale sunflowers too – NOW! And I must try those double cosmos again – tried them before in one of my recent unsuccessful sowing years so I should be able to crack it next year. Very lovely, as is your jug – thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Cathy, I grew these pale ones alongside the ‘Ruby Eclipse’ you kind sent. However the ‘Ruby Eclipse’ don’t look much like yours last year – they’re jolly and yellow, but have pretty massive stems, so a little tricky to use in a vase…
      And yes, do try the double cosmos, I’m loving it!

      Reply
      1. Cathy

        So sorry about the Ruby Eclipse – mine look nothing like last year either, and quite variable amongst each other in terms of size. Chloris suggests sunflowers may not come true from seed which would explain it – I will have to buy a new packet I suppose… 😦

    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Thanks FD. Yes, the light was a lovely coincidence. I was wandering round the garden trying to find a spot to photograph it (as it was definitely too dark inside) and found the light as I perched it on the edge of the table trying to avoid the folds of fabric belonging to the closed central umbrella just to the left!

      Reply
  2. Eliza Waters

    Your arrangement is so beautiful! I love the soft, lemony yellow with the double cosmos, and the jug is just perfect for it. Visiting Cathy’s meme, I’m getting all sorts of ideas for next year’s garden. These flowers are definitely going on the list!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – purple prose | Duver Diary

  4. Pingback: The Cutting Garden – August 2015 | Duver Diary

Leave a Reply

