West Dean – autumnal dream

IMG_4919

Having described (at some length!) Keith Wiley’s inspiring talk in yesterday’s post, one thing I didn’t disclose was where the talk took place, and the answer is wonderful West Dean.

I’ve written about West Dean before, here, and it really is one of my favourite places.  The combination of a first class garden (with flowers, fruit and veg and amazing glasshouses) as well as a fabulous college, offering numerous inspiring talks and courses, makes it a place I could happily adopt as a home from home.

When I visited on Saturday for Keith’s talk, I wasn’t sure whether I would write about the gardens again.  However, I’d brought my camera just in case, and a quick whirl around the walled gardens during our lunch break made it very obvious there was plenty to share, so enjoy!

IMG_4923

IMG_4918

IMG_4926

IMG_4944

IMG_4940

IMG_4935

I loved this Dahlia – D. FuschianaIMG_4942

and this Zinnia, Z. Raspberry CordialIMG_4933

IMG_4934

Perfect veg, as everIMG_4978

with more to comeIMG_5001

and a stunning array of pots to finish.IMG_4957

2 thoughts on “West Dean – autumnal dream

  1. Pingback: End of month view – September 2014 | Duver Diary

  2. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – raspberry cordial debut | Duver Diary

Leave a Reply

