In a vase on Monday – raspberry cordial debut

photo (3)

Further to Saturday’s rather rushed GBBD, here is last Monday’s vase bringing together some of the Cutting Garden blooms featured there.

I just love the extraordinary salmon pink colour of large Zinnia at the front.  This is Zinnia Raspberry Cordial which I fell in love with last September at West Dean (see below).

IMG_4934

Whereas all my other ‘Benary’ Zinnias came from Chilterns, I managed to find these seeds for sale at Plants of Distinction.  I haven’t got too many Raspberry Cordial blooms yet, but there are plenty more to come at the Cutting Garden, and I also have plants planted in the Grass Bed.  It’s not often I’m so determined to seek out a particular variety, but I’m really chuffed I did.

To fill out the arrangement I also added some Zinnia Benary Giant Scarlet and my peachy Antirrhinum Orange Wonder.  The Antirrhinums in this vase were a bit ‘kinky’ as they hadn’t been staked, but I really like the way they’ve curving at the front of the mug.photo 5

And for green, I have yet more heads of Dianthus Green Trick.  These ones are currently growing in a big pot near my front steps.  I really must take more cuttings as I love the freshness of the colour and how long lasting they are in the vase.photo 1 (1)

With thanks to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden for hosting everyone’s IaVoM.

18 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – raspberry cordial debut

  1. Christina

    I think zinnias are amazing, love all yours, I’m just about to do an order for Chiltern so good to know you had success with their seed. I also love the Dianthus Green Trick, where did that come from?

    Reply
  2. jenhumm116 Post author

    Hi Christina, I got the Green Trick from Sarah Raven as rooted cuttings in the spring.
    They were pretty expensive so I was glad I took further cuttings as soon as they’d got going, and, as I said in my post I definitely intend to take some more.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Yup! 🙂
      I really must make a note to make loads of cuttings this weekend as I think they’re great – both for cutting and just in the garden. They’re still such a lovely fresh green when things are starting to look a bit exhausted.

      Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Donna, thanks. Yes I did quite well with Zinnias last year which of course prompted me to plant a lot more this year. They’re definitely quite a lot later than some annuals, like Cosmos, but I think they’re worth waiting for!

      Reply
  3. Cathy

    Oh clever you, with those lovely zinnias and the antirrhinum from seed and cuttings from your Green Trick. I have tried all of those with only limited success (except for the Twinny antirrhinums) – what is your success with zinnia? And cuttings of things like this dianthus? Your little vase really stands out on your desk and softens the whole appearance of your work station

    Reply
  4. Kris P

    That’s a wonderful composition! The Antirrhinum stems curve around under the Zinnia like little arms and I love the contrast between the orange tones and the bright green. I’ve never seen that green dianthus here but will look for it.

    Reply
  5. jenhumm116 Post author

    Hi Kris, that’s a lovely description ‘like little arms’. It’s great when my shortcomings (ie not staking) actually result in something which (unexpectedly) works!

    Reply
  6. Hannah

    Such lovely bold colors together! The green puffballs are fantastic, and do add so much in shock value. I really like the soft peachy tones of the Antirrhinum too, and their curving buds,.

    Reply
  7. Ann Edwards Photography

    gosh, I love that Dianthus Green Trick which looks so pretty with the pinks and I didn’t know that you could take cuttings from it.

    Reply
  8. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – just peachy! | Duver Diary

Leave a Reply

