In a vase on Monday – tangerine dream

IMG_4838

Another cheating ‘In a vase on Monday’ as this one was actually created on Friday to take to my sister’s new home for her birthday weekend.

Just three components, Helianthus ClaretIMG_4840

 Tithonia rotundiflora ‘Torch’IMG_4839

and Cotinus.  I’m not sure if it’s Cotinus coggygria Royal Purple’, as it’s an inherited shrub, but it seems most likely.IMG_4841

I made the arrangement as a hand tied bunch and then tied the whole arrangement in a square of cellophane which helped to give it a slightly more professional look.

There is no doubt that I find larger arrangements exponentially harder than small ones, but I was lucky to have so many of both the sunflowers and the Tithonia to play with, and basically just kept going until I couldn’t hold any more stems in my hand.  I’m not sure that’s a recognised hand tied approach, but it worked for me!

With thanks as ever to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden for hosting all our vases.  And many happy returns, lovely sis.

13 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – tangerine dream

  1. Kris P

    A beautiful autumn bouquet! I’d already been looking for a spot to put a purple Cotinus in my own garden – I hadn’t even factored in the value of the foliage in floral creations but now I have…

    Reply
  2. Cathy

    Gorgeous – it’s like the glowing embers of a fire. I tried these dark sunflowers last year, but the slugs got to them – must try again as I do generally prefer them to the yellow ones. Great to see your tithonia too – I am hoping to have some in a vase soon. How long do you expect yours to continue flowering? The cotinus was a great addition to the flowers and your sister must have loved her present. Thanks for joining in ps I think I subconsciously avoid ‘big’ arrangements too….

    Reply
  3. jenhumm116 Post author

    Hi Cathy, thanks.
    I suffered with the slugs too this year – but they ate nearly all my Helianthus Moonwalker, but left my Velvet Queens!
    I expect the Tithonias to keep going for ages – I can’t really keep up with them, there are armsful!

    Reply
  4. Anna

    Oh what a fabulous glowing arrangement which I think anybody would be delighted to receive as a gift. I do like that dark sunflower. Have never had much joy growing them but then there’s always next year.

    Reply
  5. Julie

    What stunning colours in your vase this week – I have sunflowers producing well but have not grown tithonia yet. I must try next year as it looks so good with your dark cotinus and claret sunflowers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

