In a vase on Monday – May Day carnival

IMG_2378

Oh so happy to have enough blooms to make a proper vase full!

Some are returning again from recent vases – the Winter Sunshine Sweet Peas (shown flowering in the greenhouse in yesterday’s post – some of the stems are 10 inches long!)IMG_2377

Cerinthe major purpurescens

IMG_2376

but oh look – the Antirrhinum The Rose I was rude about last year is a perfect match for the Pink Sweet Pea.IMG_2380

I do love the way the stems curl, I think they’re fabulous in a vase and have now completely changed my mind about pulling them out – despite the sugary colour.  You can always add a dash of zing, in the form of Euphorbia polychroma!

IMG_2375

With thanks to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden who hosts this lovely meme.

Happy Bank Holiday Monday!

9 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – May Day carnival

  1. Cathy

    Oh that is really zingy, Jen – and makes me look forward all the more to my WS sweet peas… I have 2 stems so far! You must be so pleased that the antirrhinum has returned now it seems as if it will pull its own weight. The cerinthe and euphorbia are perfect partners in today’s vase – thanks for sharing

    Reply
  2. Cathy

    Just super, Jen. Another snapdragon convert too! Christina got me going with them last year (I’ve disdained them in the past) with her white snaps. As you rightly say those sweet little tips to the flower stems are what does it. Your euphorbia certainly does offer a bit of spring zing …

    Reply
  3. Kris P

    Lovely colors! I wondered the same thing as Christina about your sweet pea stems – I have to cut an entire branch to get that height.

    Reply
  4. Edinburgh Garden Diary

    I love this colour combo. It may just be the camera or my screen, but that snapdragon doesn’t look sugary at all, more dusky salmon, and it goes perfectly with those lovely sweetpeas, as you say.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

