Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – March 2017

IMG_2151

All of a sudden spring has sprung and there are hundreds of blooms to enjoy – not least Narcissus ‘Cragford’, above.  And despite moaning last year I’d planted them too close together, I’m delighted to see they’ve all returned!

Plenty of other Narcissi now including ‘Jenny’

 

IMG_2174

‘Peeping Jenny,’IMG_2175

‘Tete a Tete’

IMG_2148

and my first ‘Minnow’ of the year.  This is definitely one of my favourites – the blooms are really dainty, only about 3cm across, so I hope I’ve planted enough to make an impact.IMG_2178

A few other bulbs blooming now – these Muscari, M. Latifolium are returning again from the wedding flowers.  Last year they got rather eaten, so I’m delighted to see them back better than ever this year.  And interestingly, for those who remember the saga of me trying to get these and the N. Elka flowering together on the day,the Elkas are currently nowhere to be seen!

IMG_2152

This last one is the Crocus chrysanthus Miss Vain.  The majority are over now, but if you look closely you’ll see there are daffodils to follow, so hopefully the pot will shortly be rebooted!IMG_2171

I found one of the first bees enjoying the Rosemary (R. prostratus).IMG_2150

And I think I’ve mentioned that I’ve become a bit overrun with Euphorbia, but doesn’t that colour sing (zing?) in the sunshine?IMG_2177

Talking of colour, I know it’s not a bloom, but I couldn’t resist including this Chard.IMG_2172

Continuing on the pink theme, this Daphne x Pink Fragrance ‘Blapink’ is really pumping out the blooms – and scent – now.  It’s in a pot and currently seems happy, but I do wonder if I should plant it out.IMG_2169

The tea tree plant, Leptospermum has just started blooming again after a little rest.  Sadly it has got rather leggy now and I’m not convinced it would resprout from the bottom if I pruned it hard.  Any clues?IMG_2161

There are still plenty of Hellebores but I thought this one was very fine.  Strangely I have no memory of seeing it before, but it seems rather too glamorous to be self seeded.IMG_2158

Of my two witch hazels H. Arnold’s Promise is in full flowerIMG_2156

but H. Aphrodite is still being rather shy.IMG_2153

And to finish, because it was such a glorious day it almost felt like a quick dip might be fun, here’s the Diving Lady, with her pool. IMG_2173

With thanks to Carol at May Dream Gardens who hosts everyone’s GBBDs.  Why don’t you pop over and see what others have blooming now?

18 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – March 2017

  1. Sam

    The first photo of N.’Cragford’ is absolutely lovely! I’m sure your garden is looking quite spring-like just now, judging by all these gorgeous blooms. Hellebores are notorious crossers so it could be a self-seeded one.

    Reply
  2. Alison C

    Hello
    Tiny narcissus are my favourites and your little muscari in pots are delightful. I’m a few hours north of you and things are a little further behind.

    Reply
  3. rusty duck

    I remember admiring your ‘Cragford’ last year and it’s wonderful that they have returned. Definitely going on the list now. Don’t worry about Aphrodite. My experience with witch hazels is that they take a couple of years to settle then suddenly go for it.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi RD. Interesting about the Hamamelis, thank you. The Aphrodite is in a much sunnier, more open spot than Arnold, which, although has been in much longer, I don’t think will ever really take off as too shady.
      Fingers crossed Aphrodite behaves as you’ve described!

      Reply
  4. Cathy

    Isn’t it strange how your witch hazels are that much later than mine, Jen, despite your southerly location? I only have the odd solitary bloom on my AP now. I have been having similar thoughts about the flowers I grew for Younger Daughter’s wedding last year (end of April), curious to see if and when they would be flowering – muscari is flowering, no anemones, and no white narcissi of any sort, but it is still another 6 weeks till the anniversary although if it was last year I would have been getting a little concerned!!

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      I think I noticed that last year that my witch hazels seemed later than many. I don’t really understand why as we really are pretty mild here.
      And yes, I’d be having kittens if the wedding was this year!

      Reply
  5. Chronica Domus

    I adore narcissus Cragford and the majority of mine have already finished. Their orange cup is the finishing touch that makes it stand out I think.

    It’s all white in my garden this week, and in my vase.

    Reply
  6. Super_C#gardener

    Beautiful container hyacinths. This time of the year is my favorite with so many flowers starting to come up.

    Of course, in Chicago it’s still wet and grey and chilly. But seeing the trees start to bud gives my such a huge sense of optimism.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

