Now you see it…

img_2070a

…now you don’t.img_2071

So, apologies to those who told me not to move the Acacia baileyana purpurea now, but the deed is done.  And so far it’s still looking pretty perky, but time will tell.

The Acacia move is all part of the realisation that I’m already behind and it’s only February.  None of which would matter apart from two things

  1. I’m now officially full time at work (three days in London, two at home)
  2. Not only am I opening the garden for the village Secret Gardens on June 25th this year, but I’ve been persuaded to take over organisation of the event.

So now you know.

But if there’s one thing I love it’s a deadline (oh and two college deadlines this month too!) and somehow, moving the Acacia was the sort of dramatic progress I needed, even if I kill it in the process.

The next question is, what to replace it with?  When it was first planted as an interesting purple leaved ‘mound’ it looked wonderful, but as soon as it became a tree I didn’t like the way it competed with the metal obelisk.  However, that doesn’t mean the bed doesn’t need something quite large to give some structure.  As some of you know, the bed has a ‘bruised’ coloured theme and so I am seriously considering a second Cercis canadensis ‘Forest Pansy’ but that wouldn’t be evergreen (or indeed ever-purple).  Perhaps I could consider a purple Phormium – there is one in the bed in front to the right of the photo, but I don’t really like them and doubt I’d ever move it.  And whilst it would work quite well with the obelisk, it would seem a strange bedfellow for the roses.

Thoughts please!

Meanwhile the Acacia has now been moved to the left hand Lavender bed and is deliberately sited between the two existing trees.img_2073

Another thing I finally did this weekend was order my seeds.  Last year I bought them on Black Friday the year before (October 2015!) which felt far too early and resulted in me going rather bonkers as a) I didn’t have plan but b) I did have a discount.  This year, ordering them in February, definitely feels too late and I’m quite sure I’ve forgotten some.  And I’m also quite sure that annuals I’m hoping will be flowering by June won’t be.

Wish me luck!

6 thoughts on “Now you see it…

  1. Sam

    I’m sure you’ll manage to pull it all together, Jenny 🙂 How about a Cotinus (‘Grace’ or coggygria ‘Royal Purple’)? Ok, they are deciduous and you’d have to prune to keep it small but they are lovely and definitely in your colour scheme. Don’t go for a Phormium if you don’t like them! (I don’t either.) Good luck x

    Reply
  2. Cathy

    Oh yes, Tom Thumb could work – I am really enjoying mine. Well done you for balancing (and I am sure you will) these commtments which sometimes concentrates the mind anyway! I buy most of my seeds from eBay so really do just order bits and bobs as and when I think of them, which seems to work for me

    Reply
  3. Pingback: End of Month View – April 2017 | Duver Diary

Leave a Reply

