In a vase on Monday – this could be the last time

img_1857

Of course not my last IaVoM post – that would be as silly as giving up breathing 😉   No, instead, the last of the golf flowers.

The final event, the thank you dinner for the Captain’s Committee, was on Friday night at home and held in the garden building we call the office (as that’s what it was used for by the previous owners), it’s the timber, cream painted building you’ve only ever seen from the outside. And the reason for that would be that the inside is normally filled with assorted detritus and large items of furniture the OH refuses to get rid of (a huge wooden chest, a large pine wall cupboard, a futon, oh my goodness, I’m going all Bruce Forsyth era Generation Game).

So, not only did we have the slight challenge of cooking for 14, but before that, a significant amount of furniture shifting.  Deep joy.  At one stage I thought I was never going to get to the flowers, but clearly, I have my priorities (to the extent that the first guests arrived before I was changed, ooops).

Whilst I still have plenty of pink flower carpet roses, and even Zinnias, I fancied a rather more autumnal look and was worried I might not have enough blooms to create the six arrangements I’d decided on.  As it was, as so many of us IaVoMers have found, it’s amazing what you can find if you look.

I decided on an orangey/burgundy theme, so picked a few of the Antirrhinum ‘Black Prince’img_1859

added what might well be the last of the Dahlia  ‘La Recoleta’, some Cerinthe for foliage and plenty of the self sown Nasturtiums.  (Interestingly, these are not the N. Black Velvet I grew from seed last year, they’ve definitely evolved into a much tawnier, softer colour this year which actually suited the arrangement better).img_1862

And then, it was just a simple matter of getting out the ladder and shimmying up the pergola to cut some rose hips from my Rosa ‘Wedding Day’.  Simples!img_1858

Not the best photos as I was a little pushed for time, but hopefully you get the idea.

So, now that’s all over, I wonder what excuse I’ll have for future vase challenges?  Hmmm.

With many thanks, as always, to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden who hosts all our IaVoM vases.  Why don’t you pop over to her site to see her post today celebrating this lovely meme?

14 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – this could be the last time

  1. Christina

    Oh! I don’t think this will be your last vase for the golfers; you’ve proved that you are brilliant at it so whoever is captain next will probably ask you! Love colours; I always like small vases arranged on a table in this way.

    Reply
  2. Cathy

    Yes, I was going to say the same thing as your skills have cerainly been noticed by other members – would you rather give it a rest though? Still seems odd that the Captain (or his partner, as it seems she has done the work!) has to host this meal after all the captaincy he has been doing in the last year! The 2×3 ‘cups’ you have used are such a good idea for a long table like thos and the colour theme has worked really well – the hips especially add to the blooms. Thanks for sharing

    Reply
  3. Kris P

    Like some of the other commentators, my guess is there’s no doubt that you’ll be tapped to help out with the golfing group’s flowers in the future. You did a splendid job pulling together decorations for that long table in short order. The burgundy-orange mix was inspired!

    Reply
  4. Cathy

    Those colours are gorgeous and I am sure you impressed once again! Love those small pots along the centre of the table. The rose hips are the crowning glory, perfect for the season.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – bronze cup? | Duver Diary

Leave a Reply

