In a vase on Monday – Golfing gold

IMG_1418

As you can imagine, there was great excitement chez Duver Diary about Jason Rose winning Olympic gold for the golf.  However, the gold theme of the arrangement above, made on Sunday to take to the golf club for ‘Joint Captains’ Day’ was entirely coincidental, and very much influenced by what I had in the garden that was ‘pickable’ and tall enough to fill such a huge vase.

I started with great big branches of Cotinus coggygria ‘Grace’IMG_1423

and added the large green Sedum heads.IMG_1422

To these I added the huge spires of Gladioli ‘Black Star’ (I was quietly relieved to reduce the number in the garden!)

IMG_1419

and then finished with my gold accents, picked from the Bronze Bed (perhaps I should rename it the Gold Bed?) – both Helenium ‘Moerheim Beauty’IMG_1421

and plenty, plenty of Dahlia ‘Happy Single Date.’IMG_1420

As well as this large arrangement, I also made ten small posy pots for the tea tables like the ones I did here, but completely forgot to photo them!

I’m chuffed to say they all made it to the golf club intact, and when I went to pick the OH up around tea time, a (male) complete stranger passed me in the clubhouse and said ‘Hello Skipper’s wife, nice flowers.’ Praise indeed!

With thanks to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden who hosts this lovely meme.

7 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – Golfing gold

  1. Cathy

    What a great combination – making such a big display will always be more of a challenge and it is not something I have done yet. You certainly seem to have taken to it like the proverbial duck to water – and the unsolicited praise indicate how successful the result was. Well done you – again!!

    Reply
  2. Hannah

    The dark Cotinus leaves make such a great backdrop, and the Single Date dahlias are really stunning with them, I love peachy flowers and the darker centers are wonderful, Jen.

    Reply
  3. Kris P

    Those strong colors make a powerful statement! Everything looks to be in the peak of condition too. I was almost disappointed to hear that you’d sent your arrangement off – it looked perfect just where you photographed it with that wonderful ceramic (?) head on the shelf behind it but I’m glad it was a hit with the golf club crowd.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

