In a vase on Monday – floral fiesta

IMG_1373

On Saturday I had the delight of my London Book Club friends coming to the island for lunch and I decided to arrange flowers inspired by the, er, napkins!IMG_1368

As we were eating outside I had to contend with an umbrella in the centre of the table, so I chose to arrange five similarly themed vases to form a circle.  Whilst the colours didn’t exactly ‘go’ I liked the gaiety on what was (unlike Sunday) a rather grey day.

Apart from the sweet peas Lathyrus odoratus ‘Annie B Gilroy’ and Lathyrus odoratus ‘Heathcliff’, there were Dahlia ‘Happy Single Date’IMG_1370

Achillea ‘Terracotta’IMG_1371

Scabiosa atroprupurea ‘Fata Morgana’IMG_1372

and a second dahlia, currently vying with HSD for 2016 favourite – D. Mystery Fox.IMG_1374

And despite the book (my choice!) not being so well liked, I think we all had a time as jolly as the flowers.  I know I did.IMG_1366

With thanks to my book club ladies for making the trip and to Cathy for hosting this lovely meme.

7 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – floral fiesta

  1. Chloris

    It’ s August, flowers aren’ t supposed to ‘ go’ in August. I just love the colour mix you have used. What a treat for your London friends. Do tell – what was the book?

    Reply
  2. jenhumm116 Post author

    ‘Love like salt’ by Helen Stevenson, a true story by the mother of a child with cystic fibrosis. There were aspects we all liked, and certainly learnt from, but overall felt there was too much about the mother and too little about the daughter. Have you read it?

    Reply
  3. Edinburgh Garden Diary

    Well, your book club ladies must certainly have been impressed! I’ll bet they talked about the flowers just as much as the book. And a very good match with the napkin too! Joyful, warm colours clashing happily just as flowers should at this time of year.

    Reply
  4. AnnetteM

    Lovely flowers. I have had my eye on Achillea ‘Terracotta’ for some time and that dahlia is perfect. I am glad Chloris asked about the book. I might give it a try.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Annette, I do find the Achillea Terracotta a bit variable – some flower heads are really quite yellowy/cream, but perhaps they become more terracotta with age? I planted it last year but hardly got any flowers so it still feels quite new to me this year. I’ll have to observe more closely!

      Reply
      1. AnnetteM

        It would look lovely in my yellow/orange border, though it is getting a bit crowded. I do have a pink penstemon that needs to be moved out though.

Leave a Reply

