End of month view – July 2016

IMG_1405

Another set of rather bleached photos as these were taken around midday when I found a minute spare.

After the big clear out in June, the grass bed was planted with Ammi, Cosmos and Calendula and all are starting to fill out.  I hadn’t really thought through how tawny the grasses would get, and the colouring is working well with the marigolds.  I’m hoping by the time they’re exhausted the Ammi and Cosmos will be in full swing and I can just turf them out.

Meanwhile the Swing Beds are rather overrun with Diascia personata but are at least looking more flowery than they were this time last year, but that won’t last long if I don’t get some water on them.

I’m trying to add more blues to these beds with some Scabious grown from seed (Scabiosa atropurpurea ‘Blue Cockade’) as well as the sister’s Penstemon (P. Stapleford Gem mentioned here) but they’re still not really making any impact.  And although I have chopped back the pink hardy geranium at the front, there’s still too much of it, and it does leave a large uninteresting green patch when it’s stopped flowering.IMG_1403

IMG_1402

In the Mid Century bed the Rhodochiton which were such a success on the obelisk last year, still haven’t got going and a couple have definitely perished.  I do have some spares so need to get those planted before it’s all too late.  I’ve pulled out all the poppies now but they have been replaced by the rather gaudy Gladioli Black Star (discussed here).  Annuals here of Antirrhinum and Malope are still just getting going.

IMG_1408

IMG_1417

In the Veg Bed the most striking thing is the Sweet Peas.  I’ve actually planted two rows this year, there’s another wave coming behind, opposite the runner beans.  As for actual veg the courgettes are (predictably) taking over, and there’s plenty of chard.  The French Beans, Runners and Mange Tout have all been a little slow to get going, and they too would benefit from a really good soaking.IMG_1398

Highlight of this area for me has to be the home grown Agapanthus.  As I’d hoped, they’re obviously loving the heat of the wall at the back of the strawberry bed.

IMG_1399

At the other side of the garden in the Bronze Bed the Dahlia ‘Happy Single Dates’ are going from strength to strength and proving how much happier Dahlias are with their feet in the ground.  The number I’ve still got in pots are clearly feeling (and looking) rather disgruntled.IMG_1380

IMG_1381

In the greenhouse the tomatoes and cucumbers are hurtling up the bamboos, but haven’t been too productive to date – more water (and food) required, I feel.

IMG_1392

The aubergines have their first flowers.  Quite how Monty Don was harvesting fully grown aubergines weeks ago I have no idea!IMG_1391

Non edibles include my lovely Plumbagos as well as this glory lily (Gloriosa rothschildiana).IMG_1396

IMG_1397

And there are new biennial seeds coming to start the whole cycle again.IMG_1394

IMG_1395

And to finish, a few pots currently looking good.  IMG_1407

IMG_1390

IMG_1377

IMG_1385

With thanks to Helen at the Patient Gardener who hosts the EoM meme.

4 thoughts on “End of month view – July 2016

  1. Cathy

    Always good to catch up and see how things are doing in your garden – those agapanthus are wonderful! Do you cut your Hopleys down in autumn? I don’t know what’s recommended and mine is looking rather ragged this year after I cut mine back. I didn’t think to include the greenhouses in my EOMV so will perhaps go back and add them.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Thanks Cathy. And sorry, I think you asked about the Hopleys before and I never answered. Yes, I did give them a chop for two reasons – one, some of the foliage was looking a bit tatty, but also if they get too tall they tend to flop. They seem to have coped happily with their haircut.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

