In a vase on Monday – return of blooms on a desk

photo 1

I’ve been taking flowers to work again for weeks now but I thought I’d share this one from last week as it was a bit different.

Firstly, I’d picked Plumbago for the first time, and actually it lasted very well.  This was joined by Scabious ‘Fata Morgana’.  I grew this from seed for the first time last year and planted it in the Bronze Bed expecting it to be quite peachy.  As it is it’s rarely more than cream which was disappointing in the bed, photo 2

but worked with the Sweet Pea Lathyrus ‘Jilly’photo 4 (1)

To these I added Salvia horminum ‘White Swan’.  I was prompted to grow these after the success of S. horminum ‘Oxford Blue’ last year.  I love the green veining which makes it looks so fresh.  However, the truth is these blooms were picked directly from the seed tray where they were still languishing, and when I returned home last Thursday they were looking a bit peaky and I still haven’t planted them out in the ground!  I’ve given them a good soak this evening and hopefully they’ll last the week and I can dream up somewhere to plant them next weekend…photo 3 (1)

With thanks to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden who hosts this lovely meme.

5 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – return of blooms on a desk

  1. Cathy

    And now I shall need to add a white clary sage to my Oxford Blue and whatever my pink one is – I really like this annual and clearly you do too. Your scabious is pretty, even if it wasn’t peachy – but does it look out of place in the bronze bed? The sweet peas look almost diaphanous in your photos, don’t they? I am so pleased that you are still taking flowers to work – would your colleagues miss them if you didn’t? Oh, and it looked almost a spring-like vase at first with those pale colours

    Reply
  2. Kris P

    I love the soft colors. I’ve been wondering how plumbago does in a vase. As it handles the heat and drought here, I may have to plant some too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

