In a vase on Monday – Lauren and friends

IMG_1087

Today’s vase was created to give as a gift to a male host so I thought I’d better steer clear of soft pinks and peaches, and decided to go with a deep plum theme, livened up by Euphorbia polychroma.

I cut two plants for the first time –   Lysmachia atropurpurea, to provide vertical accents, and the lovely, silky Papaver somniferum ‘Lauren’s Grape.’  I seared their stems in boiling water but to be honest I’m not sure how long they’ll last.  I really must cut some for home to find out! IMG_1089

To these I added some Rosa ‘Munstead Wood’ (it looked darker in real life)IMG_1090

and my lovely, new, neat, dark La Recoleta dahlias.IMG_1088

It seemed to be well received, but the matching bottle of wine was probably his preference!IMG_1092

With thanks to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden, who hosts this lovely meme.

19 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – Lauren and friends

  1. Linda Brazill

    Love those deep rich tones and perfect for a man. I think because they are not usually on the receiving end of getting a bouquet they really don’t know how to react.

    Reply
  2. Cathy

    Dahlias…In June … how have you managed that?! Perfect dahlia though to go with Munstead Wood and that delicious poppy – do let us know how you get on with your poppy experiment. Thanks for sharing

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Cathy, it’s a classic case of being too busy having a positive effect! I had the tubers growing on in the greenhouse and didn’t get round to moving them outside so they ended up flowering!

      Reply
  3. joanna

    Dahlias – this early. Mine are only just coming through the soil.
    And colours to die for – shining like rubies. I like the spurge that connects the pompoms, which are never easy to arrange.

    Reply
  4. Kris Peterson

    I think men appreciate gifts of flowers more than they let on but I’m sure the wine was appreciated too! It’s a beautiful bouquet! The flowers are very dramatic.

    Reply
  5. Cathy

    Gorgeous colours. I so much admire that poppy ‘Lauren’s Grape’ and the Lysimachia combination. And, as Cathy says, how on earth have you managed dahlias in June – mine are only a few inches high! Like alchemilla, the euphorbia is perfect with any colour, isn’t it?

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Dahlia dilemmas | Duver Diary

Leave a Reply

