Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – June 2016

IMG_1055

I’m a day late for GBBD and have again not touched my garden for over a week due to a trip to Northumberland.  It was planned to coincide with picking up our daughter from uni in Durham, but sadly it also coincided with cold, misty, rainy weather, however I expect I’ll still share some garden visits, even if they’re rather grey!

I took these GBBD photos on my return from London this evening and these too are reflecting the rainy weather.  Bearing in mind my recent multiple absences a degree of skillful camera work was also required to avoid capturing large swathes of convolvulus…..

So, despite the rain, June is all about the roses.  My roses aren’t quite in the same league as the wonderful NT garden at Mottisfont I visited a couple of years ago, but I added some new ones last year, so the number is growing.  The top one, by the front gate, has a lovely scent but was inherited so I’m afraid I don’t know its name.

Below, one of the new roses last year, Jubilee Celebration, already a favourite,IMG_1068

later turns into this.IMG_1062

In the same bed are both Rosa ‘Munstead Wood’ (looking here rather paler than reality)IMG_1069

and climbing Rosa ‘Falstaff’IMG_1077

Another inherited rose in the Lavender bed is a very similar colour toIMG_1065

this Sarah Bernhardt peony.IMG_1067

On the pergola posts either side of the swing are Rosa ‘St Swithun’IMG_1072

and Rosa ‘Korizont.’IMG_1073

In the Bronze Beds the Pat Austin roses which featured in my last Monday vase, have been joined by self seeded Nasturtium ‘Caribbean Crush’IMG_1060

and this poppy, Papaver nudicale ‘Party Fun’IMG_1058

I’m delighted that another poppy, Papaver somniferum ‘Lauren’s Grape,’ has reappeared in the Mid Century bed.IMG_1063

Here too the Lysmachia atropurpurea, grown from seed last year, is filling out

IMG_1071

and has now been joined by a self seeded Malope trifida ‘Vulcan’.  I’ve grown more Malope from seed this year, but they’re all still sitting in a seed tray in the greenhouse.IMG_1079

 

The Alliums in the drive bed, Allium ‘Violet Beauty’, haven’t returned well from their introduction last year, but those that did return are looking good now.  Sadly, I’d added some new tulips, also called ‘Violet Beauty’ to join them, but the tulips came and went weeks ago. Back to the drawing board. IMG_1057

And to finish Meconopsis baileyi, a present from the OH for my birthday.  I wonder if I’ll mange to have it blooming this time next year?

IMG_1080

With thanks to Carol at May Dreams Gardens who hosts everyone’s GBBD.

5 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – June 2016

  1. Sam

    Gorgeous blooms and very pretty with the raindrops. I’m particularly taken with roses ‘Jubilee Celebration’ and ‘St Swithun’. Lovely.

    Reply
  2. Cathy

    Good to see your lovely roses – and interesting to know you have grown lysimachia from seed…might give that a try. I wonder what gdns you visited in Northumberland…

    Reply
  3. Cathy

    Hopefully, if you visited gardens in Northumbria, you’ll let us have a look? I do wish people would stop posting pictures of St Swithen’s – I’m going to be forced to order more roses now! Yours photos are lovely, and beautifully enhanced by the rain! Like Sherl, have fallen for P. somniferum ‘Lauren’s Grape’ – how toothsome are those flowers!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Alnwick Gardens, a bucket list tick | Duver Diary

Leave a Reply

