In a vase on Monday – heads up!

IMG_0483

When I blogged about these Narcissi ‘Goose Green’ in my End of Month View I complained that they seemed to flower with their heads down.  However, since then, they have lifted their heads and are certainly held high and proud in today’s plonked Monday vase.IMG_0487

To keep the Narcissus company I added a large stem of Matthiola incana, which is doing a brilliant job of scenting the whole kitchen, together withIMG_0485 - Copy

three stems of acid green Euphorbia characias Wulfenii.  IMG_0486

Certainly not the most sophisticated vase, but it’s cheering up the kitchen and me no end!

With thanks to Cathy for hosting our Monday vases.

15 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – heads up!

    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Yes I know just what you mean. I almost didn’t post this as it’s so informal but the cheerful daffs and gorgeous scent have made it a really lovely vase to live with

      Reply
  1. Kris Peterson

    The lighting in your photo admirably picks up the warm colors at the centers of those Narcissi. How nice to have the scent of the Matthiola too! I didn’t have any of the latter growing in my garden this spring and I missed its beautiful scent.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Yes, it is a lovely scent isn’t it? My plants have over wintered for years and are now very leggy but I can’t bear to pull them out!

      Reply
  2. Chloris

    Goose Green is a new one to me and I love it, it’ s definitely on the list for next year. Such a cheery vase and fragrant too, I love it.

    Reply
  3. Sam

    I love this vase and I’ll bet it does smell lovely. I have a similar narcissus (Felindre) which I love but all the flowers have faded now. I’ll have to look out for this one.

    Reply
  4. Cathy

    Chunky or not, it must be delightfully scenting your kitchen. How tall has your matthiola grown? Mine was grown from seed last year and is only about 6″ tall

    Reply
  5. Cathy

    Narcissi are definitely one of the most cheerful of flowers, and with added scent from the Matthiola it’s perfect for a vase in a spring kitchen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

