Veg patch panic

IMG_0468

I feel a little silly that it only really hit me on Saturday that I’m going away next Friday for a week and I have a greenhouse packed full of seedlings.  IMG_0473

IMG_0478

IMG_0476

Although we have someone house sitting for the dog, the worry is they’re not a gardener and, as has happened before with someone else, I’ll come back to a greenhouse and garden full of death and destruction.  Consequently, during today’s beautiful sunshine, I finally sprung into action.

I decided to focus on the veg patch as many of the flower seedlings are still quite small and so will hopefully last better in their seed trays than some of the larger veg.  And none of that hardening off nonsense, – no time – into the ground and get on with it!

So, after a great deal of structural work by the other half (thanks Andrew!) I’m delighted to report I now have Cavalo nero ‘Black Magic’, Broccoli ‘Early Purple Sprouting’ broccoli, Courgette ‘El greco’, Courgette ‘Gold Rush,’ Broad bean, The Sutton Dwarf.

Oh, and all those things that look like peas, well they’re Sweet Peas.  Close enough!IMG_0481 - Copy

Fingers crossed for everything else!

 

 

12 thoughts on “Veg patch panic

  1. AnnetteM

    I am in a similar position. It is not a good time to go away is it? Do I leave my tiny seedlings in next door’s greenhouse where they will probably frazzle (they are going away too!) or do I let them risk cold and snails in my growhouse. Do I buy my bedding plants now and keep them in the greenhouse and growhouse or risk there being none left when I get back. It is a bit more important this year as I am having a charity event in my garden in July. I think I will spread the risk and buy just a few now. Good luck with yours.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Thank you and good luck to you too. And you’re right it’s not a good time – my poor little seedling babies need their mum! 😉

      Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Christina – I know! In some ways it’s not feeling like such a bright idea but I’m sure it will be fun. We’re going on a walking holiday around Valencia, so hopefully warm but not hot!

      Reply
  2. Cathy

    I’ve got the same problem. My answer is more boring – I’m not going, but waiting until June to go home to Scotland. Have a wonderful holiday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

