End of month view – April 2016

IMG_0285

Still plenty of bulbs flowering in the beds, but those in pots are now past their best and I’m currently plotting and planning their replacements.

Above, looking across the Mid Century bed towards the Swing Beds, one of the most striking things is the huge froth of forget me nots.  They look particularly effective when both the sky and water are blue – but you’ll have to take my word for that!

Below you can see that plenty of the tulips planted in autumn 2014 have returned, but rather unevenly, with many more in the right hand bed than the left.  Weird.

IMG_0290

Below you can see all three tulips in this bed – the earliest, ‘Pink Impression’ are almost all over, but they have been followed by two I described last year as sugared almond coloured, ‘Mistress’ and ‘Menton’.IMG_0292

In the Grass Bed, the Narcissus ‘Peeping Jenny’ (which featured as a Wordless Wednesday only two weeks ago) are just about finished, but sadly few of the Tulip ‘Spring Green’ (planted three years ago) have returned to succeed them.  And the rather mad Allium ‘Hair’ seem to have disappeared too.  I feel a shopping list coming on….IMG_0293

In the Mid Century bed the Tulips ‘Merry go round’ and ‘Queen of the night’ are blooming together when I expected them to follow one another.  If I’d known that’s how they’d behave I would have intermingled them rather than planting in groups.  Hey ho, on the positive side, I certainly hadn’t predicted the match between the dark ‘Queen of the nights’ and the Cerinthe flowers (not least because the latter shouldn’t be flowering now anyway!)IMG_0294

In the shady bed I planted this striking Narcissus ‘Goose Green’ for the first time,IMG_0296

but sadly they seem a little shy, with their lovely faces angled down.IMG_0295

In the veg area there are still no veg to admire, but raspberries, strawberries and very tardy rhubarb are finally getting going.IMG_0289

Also not much to see in the Hosta bed, but I’m trying to get ahead of the slugs by getting my ‘Slug Gone’ wool based deterrent down early.IMG_0297

Meanwhile in the west side of the garden, the new Bronze Bed is still chock full of bulbs – Tulip ‘Jimmy’, Narcissus ‘Yazz’  and a few Narcissus ‘Cragford’ still clinging on.IMG_0300

And now they’ve been joined by the Wisteria.IMG_0299

With thanks to the Patient Gardener for hosting all the EOMV.  Why don’t you take a peek at what others are up to?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “End of month view – April 2016

  1. Sam

    It’s so pleasing when a colour combination works accidentally! The cerinthe does go beautifully with your Queen of Night tulips – gorgeous. I love the whole colour scheme in that photo. Your garden is looking really lovely and I’m sure the forget-me-nots do look fabulous with the sea and sky. Have a lovely bank holiday weekend – it’s surprisingly warm and sunny here (hooray). X

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Well on the positive side I’ve never had problems with the dog eating it, but it doesn’t seem to be exactly 100% effective either, unless you keep topping it up

      Reply
  2. rusty duck

    Oh I wish I could grow bulbs!! I was going to ask the same question about the Slug Gone. It’s worked in combination with copper rings here but less successful on its own.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Yes, definitely not 100% effective, but pretty good if you keep it topped up. But then my hosta bed is surrounded by gravel, so I think that also protects them too.

      Reply
      1. rusty duck

        Yes, mice. I’ve tried protecting the bulbs in wire cages above and below ground but even that has limited success. They even eat daffs, supposedly poisonous.

  3. Cathy

    Your last picture took me by surprise – is this when yours usually flowers? My buds are swelling but it will be towards the end of May before it is in full flower. It has been fun to share your excitement about the bulbs – like you I am I am realising just how much impact they make and I shall have a longer list for next year too, especially tulips!

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Cathy, I just looked back at last year’s EoMV post and I certainly didn’t feature them there, so I guess they are early. (Bizarrely, last year the hostas we’re much further advanced, it’s a funny old year).
      And, yes, I’m getting increasingly obsessed with tulips. Oh dear!

      Reply
  4. Cathy

    Lovely colour combinations as already stated by everyone else! The bronze bed is a really nice and unusual idea (and clever of the wisteria to time it’s flowers to coincide with those tulips!)

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Thanks Cathy. I did have a lovely time in the autumn planning the combinations. Of course, they haven’t all gone to plan but you live and learn!

      Reply
  5. Julieanne

    How pretty everything is looking. I’ve grown N. Cragford for the first time this year too and it’s been a wonderful flowerer, and nice scent to boot. I like yours with the orange tulips, they work really well.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – heads up! | Duver Diary

  7. Pingback: End of Month View – April 2017 | Duver Diary

Leave a Reply

