To bee or not to bee? #2

Bees

This is the email I received on Thursday and read, whilst still at work in London.  By the time I’d returned home later that evening I’d completely forgotten about it and consequently didn’t mention it to the OH.

I left the island again on Friday morning to spend a lovely weekend with my daughter, including the whistlestop visit to Nymans I blogged about yesterday.  I was only reminded of the email when I walked into the kitchen on Sunday evening and saw a small Jiffy envelope in a pile of post next to the Aga.  I immediately moved it out of the kitchen, but it was with a certain amount of trepidation that I opened the package the following day.  And indeed roped in the OH – hence the hand below.

As the email explained, the bees would emerge as the temperature increased, but as you can see, a gentle toasting by the Aga, clearly made one of them think it was time to make an entrance.  Hopefully the remainder will follow the usual schedule and won’t have been damaged by their roller coaster temperature experience.IMG_0166

As instructed, we placed the tub in the release box (already looking rather mouldy due to rain seeping in by the hinge, again, I hope that doesn’t matter).IMG_0167

And then filled the empty nesting tube holder with nesting tubes.IMG_0168

Having read the website after filling the tubes I realise we’ve done a couple of things wrong – firstly the tubes were in rubber bands which we took off, but apparently they help prevent birds pulling the tubes out.  And secondly, the smaller tubes are ‘inner’ tubes and shouldn’t have been used, they are spares to replace the inners when they become ‘capped’.  I’ll sort this out when I get back this Thursday.

Meanwhile we wait – and thank goodness I didn’t try honey bees….IMG_0169

 

6 thoughts on “To bee or not to bee? #2

  1. Cathy

    How exciting – and somethong most of us will never have had the experience of. I would love to have a beehive but the Golfer has a bit of a phobia about bees after having been disturbed by a swarm of them when fishing over 50 years ago which resulted in him jumping in the Severn (and he is not much of a swimmer)

    Reply
  2. Pingback: To bee or not to bee #3 | Duver Diary

Leave a Reply

