End of month view – March 2016

IMG_0121

In the Bronze Bed the Hamamelis ‘Aphodite’ is poking up through a froth of Narcissus ‘Cragford’ which have now completely taken over. According to my records I only bought 30 ‘Cragford’ bulbs, but there look to be far more than that.  Perhaps that’s the joy of multi-headed blooms!

In the Oak Bed, nearer the road, the Hellebores and Narcissus ‘Jenny’ are still floweringIMG_0123

IMG_0124

and the long table is continuing to host a large number of succulents protected by the glass canopy.IMG_0125

Looking east, the Swing Beds are beginning to fill outIMG_0102

and there are even a couple of Tulip ‘Pink Impression’ returning from last year.

In these photos you can see I’ve pruned back the roses, but haven’t yet tackled the Phlomis Italica which is rather overwhelming both beds.

IMG_0109

IMG_0107

In the right hand bed, there is still one very shaggy rose to tame.

IMG_0110

In the metal troughs I was delighted to see signs of Narcissus ‘Minnow’ returning.  Looking a couple of weeks ago there seemed to be nothing but leaves, but now there are multiple flower buds to admire.  Phew!IMG_0104

Similarly, in the new MCB, there are also plenty of bulbs ready to flower, but not there yet. Looking back at my list I see the first to flower is only ‘due’ in early April, so I suppose that’s fair enough!

IMG_0103

In the pots by the door I’ve gone for scarlet Tulip ‘Matrix’.  Quite a colour deviation for me!

IMG_0113

IMG_0114

The greenhouse pots are a rather more subtle combination, repeating last year’s Narcissus ‘Bellsong’ and Tulip ‘Angelique’.

IMG_0116

And in the greenhouse itself the seeds are taking over

IMG_0117

IMG_0119

and hopefully I’ll soon have an early sweet pea flower to admire.

IMG_0118

With thanks as ever to Helen at the Patient Gardener who hosts everyone’s End of Month Views.

14 thoughts on “End of month view – March 2016

  1. Sam

    It’s all looking lovely, especially those Cragford narcissi and your pots of tulips. The recent storm sadly snapped a load of my tulips off so I’ll have fewer flowering this year which I’m a bit gutted about (could have been a lot worse, though). It’s an exciting time of year, isn’t it?!

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Yes, I love the Cragford too. You seem to get a lot of bang for your buck!
      Poor you about the tulips, you must be more exposed than us – we’re really lucky to have inherited a lot of big hedges which protect us.

      Reply
  2. rusty duck

    I do like the ‘Cragford’ narcissi. Other than the very small ones I’m not a great lover of daffodils (Minnow came up all leaves for me too) but ‘Cragford’ is really nice. I’ve officially run out of space in the greenhouse. After tonight it’s supposed to be getting warmer. There may be evictions.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Good luck with the evictions. I’ll be looking to make space soon too but I do rather love walking into the greenhouse and seeing a sea of my ‘babies’ lined up in seed trays!

      Reply
  3. AnnetteM

    I love ‘Cragford’ too. I do like the white petals with the small orange centre – very delicate. Your garden is really filling out now, a good two to three weeks ahead of mine I would say. Your seeds are even further ahead as the only ones I have planted so far are my sweet peas! I will really do them next week!!!

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      I’m constantly reminded of the climate difference now with my daughter being at Durham for Uni – and you’re further north still. Brrr!
      Hope you manage tolant your sweet peas – you know life would be poorer without them 😉

      Reply
      1. AnnetteM

        Sweet peas were the only ones I had planted up till yesterday. In fact I had to put them in bigger pots as the roots were already growing out of the bottoms of the tubes. Makes you wonder why not plant them in big pots to start with. Got the rest of my seeds sowed yesterday. I am new to growing most of them so quite excited to see if anything happens.

  4. Julieanne

    I’m growing Narcissus ‘Cragford’ for the first time this year and I love it. All those flowers, and fragrance to boot. What a great collection you have. Tulip ‘Matrix’ looks great in that pot.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Thanks Julieanne. I’m getting increasingly obsessed with bulbs – particularly trying to get long displays in pots with multiple planting a, but it doesn’t always go to plan as this week’s Wordless Wednesday shows!

      Reply
  5. Cathy

    Your Aphrodite is still flowering? Some of mine were a good bit later than the others but they are all over now. Lovely to see your seedlings and all your bulbs emerging and I was so excited when I saw the buds on your sweet peas and rushed out to the greenhouse the next day and looked a bit closer – and yes, I have buds too! Hurrah!!

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Cathy, yes still flowering now, unbelievable.
      And congrats on your sweet peas too. I have a couple of proper flowers now so am hoping to get them in a Monday vase.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

