My name’s Jenny and I’m a seedaholic

IMG_0089

I’ve always loved growing plants from seed and last year, following an email from Chiltern Seeds announcing that they were offering a 20% discount for November’s Black Friday, I went a little mad on the ordering.

I’ve already sown the majority of the hardy annuals, and they’re starting to appear.  So exciting!IMG_0090

The good news is that the number of different seeds is under 100, but the bad news is it’s definitely well over 60, so I’ve set up a spreasheet to try to keep track of things.IMG_0088

Following another seed sowing session today, I’ve filled in all the sowing dates of everything, and am almost feeling on top of things.

The only thing to worry about now is where on earth they’re all going to go…

Meanwhile here is the latest progress of the ‘Winter Sunshine’ sweet peas  from Owl’s Acre.  They’re supposed to flower in March under glass.  I’m not holding my breath.

IMG_0091

What are you growing from seed this year?  And who’s your favourite supplier?

Happy sowing!

3 thoughts on “My name’s Jenny and I’m a seedaholic

  1. AnnetteM

    I don’t grow many seeds. I don’t have a greenhouse and my windowsills are too narrow for pots. I do have a utility room with an old boiler – you know the one that heats the room for you as an added bonus. It is great for propagating, but then seeds tend to bolt. Growing seeds outside has never been very successful either – I think as our summer is so late. That said I do usually manage sweet peas and nasturtiums. This year, though I am very excited as my neighbour has promised me some space in her greenhouse. I have got: Cosmos, Coriander – some of which are in outside, Verbena rigida, Helianthus annus ‘Claret’, antirrhinum ‘Liberty Classic Crimson’ as well as a blue and a white Sweet Pea and a Nasturtium.
    Not many by your standards, but I am new to this and don’t want to abuse the offer. I am probably going to plant them at the end of the month. They came from Sarah Raven. There are so many more I would like though. . . . .

    Reply
  2. Sam

    We’re being fairly restrained this year after a mammoth seed-sowing/growing year last year. I’ve got sweet peas, tithonia, borage, Cerinthe major, ammi, eschscholzia, cosmos, sunflowers, tomatoes, basil, nasturtiums and nicotiana (I think that’s it, perhaps a few more soon..!). Seeing them poke their little shoots out of the compost is one of the most thrilling moments. Then it’s keeping them going, potting on, hardening off – busy, busy. Good luck with your lot. You’ve a lot of seed packets there…

    Reply
  3. Cathy

    I did a double take when I saw all your seeds Jen but then realised that I probably have a similar number but because I have bought them in dribs and drabs through eBay it doesn’t seem a lot…! I couldn’t zoom into your spreadsheet to see what you included, but I have learned it’s well worth the effort of doing it and certainly makes me feel organised and on top of things! You can see my seed list (so far) at https://ramblinginthegarden.wordpress.com/sowing-2015-16/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

