Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – March 2016

IMG_0061

I’m starting with this lovely group of Fritellaria meleagris which I have to confess I bought in a pot from Waitrose.  The ones I’d planted in the shady lawn a couple of year ago seem to have dwindled to nothing, and I was feeling their loss.  I can’t quite decide whether I’ll plant these out after flowering or if it’s all rather a lost cause.  I do so love them.

Elsewhere other bulbs are coming up well.  The number of Narcissi has increased since last month – as well as N. ‘Tete a tete’ there are a couple of inherited onesIMG_0076

IMG_0077

more of the new Narcissus ‘Cragford’, which have been blooming well for a month,

IMG_0052

and, oh look, my first N. Jenny!IMG_0054

I went a bit mad with the Crocus ‘Cream Beauty’ this year after they were all eaten last year, and I’ve now got plenty in various pots, having kept them safe in the greenhouse during their infancy.

One advantage of a failing memory is that I can’t remember which Narcissus I planted to follow on –  I could look it up, but think I’ll just wait and see!IMG_0277

My two Hamamelis, ‘Aphrodite’ andIMG_0059

‘Arnold’s Promise’ are still blooming with their beautiful orange and lemon zesty flowers.IMG_0058

The Hellebores have gone from strength to strength with all the clumps significantly bigger than a year ago.IMG_0057

There are a few blooms flowering out of season – this Grevillea, which I’ve recently uncovered under a huge Fuchsia I just pruned,IMG_0075

an Argyranthemum,IMG_0074

this little DianthusIMG_0065

Cerinthe major pupurescensIMG_0066

and a couple of Pelargoniums which somehow never got brought in over the winter.  Luckily I seem to have got away with it!

This is a plant I don’t think I’ve ever featured as I havent known it’s name.  For the majority of the time it looks like a low growing conifer, but at this time of year it’s smothered in these tiny white/pink flowers and is absolutely stunning.  I finally discovered its identity at the recent RHS show, it’s a Coleonema, I think Coleonema ‘Sunset Gold,’ and it’s an absolute belter.IMG_0078

Another favourite, the Leptospermum (or tea tree plant) still covered in blooms.IMG_0050

And to finish, something I really wish wasn’t here – one of a number of clumps of wild garlic, or ransoms, Allium ursinum.  I’d better get weeding.IMG_0073

With thanks as ever to Carol at May Dreams Gardens who hosts the GBBD.

2 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – March 2016

  1. Cathy

    Oh isn’t it lovely to have all these bloomers, even the wild garlic…! I tried hard to pick all the flowers off mine before they seeded but I clearly failed! We saw a very large ceinthe plant at Attingham Hall on Monday, presumably having survived the winter – it’s stems were really thick so perhaps it had survived more than just the one winter…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

