Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day

IMG_9862

Pretty slim pickings for GBBD today, but I love the optimism of this perky geranium.

I shared my favourite hellebore last Wednesday, but I’m delighted to have more to show.  Like Julie at Peonies and Posies, my hellebores are bulking up, but there’s definitely room for more!

This Cornus Mas featured on another Wordless Wednesday is still flowering well and, growing in a pot by the front steps, it makes a very cheery greeting.IMG_9835

This Abutilon ‘Orange Marion’ is also in a pot outside, which is starting to feel rather risky bearing in mind how the temparature’s dropped.IMG_9845

The Grevillea‘s also outside and still looking good.IMG_9856

Not blooms, but they were once!  These are the lovely, fluffy seed heads of Clematis ‘Freckles’. Perhaps I should try planting some.IMG_9854

Talking of seeds, whilst the Rhodochiton atrosanguineus is still flowering, there are also some stems which have now turned to seed heads.

I am already growing some (bought) Rhodochiton seeds which I planted late last summer,IMG_9866

but if anyone fancies trying this lovely plant themselves please drop me an email at jenhumm116@yahoo.co.uk with your address and I’ll send you some of the seed heads through the post.  I clearly can’t guarantee success but Chloris assures me they’re easy!

With many thanks to Carol at May Dreams Gardens  for hosting everyone’s GBBD.  Why don’t you pop over and have a look at what everyone else has blooming now?

 

 

7 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day

  1. Cathy

    Quite a selection for someone who starts with the words ‘slim pickings’! I liked the clematis seed head and seeing the grevillea in particular. I’d love to try Rhodochiton – does the seed need to be very fresh?

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Cathy, I’m not sure about the requirement for fresh seed, but I managed to grow them from bought ones, so hopefully mine would be viable. Do send me your address if you’d like to try.

      Reply
      1. Cathy

        I would like to try, but it seems like a bit of an imposition as it will cost you more than UK postage … I will try and buy some this year! Nice to see your success!

Leave a Reply

