In a vase on Monday – Happy New Year!

IMG_9775a

Some of you may remember that after the rainbow  ‘Drive in’ flowers at the golf club, I was invited to repeat the commission for the New Year’s Eve dinner dance.  It was always going to be a tough act to follow, and I didn’t make it easy for myself.  Not only did I have a relatively last minute change of plan, but then also found myself unexpectedly driving round the island most of the morning chasing a ferry for my daughter and a strapless undergarment for me.  Both crucial, obviously, but it definitely cut into the relaxed pottering/cutting/conditioning/arranging day I’d hoped for!

The plan was one large arrangement plus 24 table arrangements (for twelve tables of ten).  I had been advised of a ‘silver’ theme and so had initially thought to incorporate sprayed silver seed heads in all the arrangements, but I found it ridiculously hard to get hold of silver spray (for some reason various online suppliers wouldn’t deliver to the Isle of Wight, and lots of shops I tried didn’t stock it).  The one tin I had purchased was largely used up spraying the seed heads used in the arrangement I did for my sister (and two smaller ones I didn’t show) but there were a few left over and so I used those in the large arrangement.

IMG_9775

As well as the seed heads, I added some wired silver baubles to the green base of Euphorbia characias ‘Wulfenii’, Garrya elliptica and some sage.   I think the silver made the Garrya look a little ‘grubby’, but I still love those tassles!IMG_9775c

Having run out of silver seed heads for the table decorations I had to improvise and part of that involved purloining Mimosa from our neighbour’s tree (thanks M & J!) as well as adding little clocks, as they seemed more appropriate for New Year than more Christmas baubles.

As with the October flowers, I found the blooms I had available didn’t really work together, but this time I ended up with just three colour schemes.  Firstly, yellow, with the beautiful, fluffy Mimosa coupled with yet more Euphorbia,IMG_9767

secondly white, with Leucojum, the last of the Ammi and some CerintheIMG_9771

and lastly pink, largely my lovely, incredibly long flowering Leptospermum, but also, at the last minute, I added a ‘drape’ of a few bells of Rhodochiton atrosanguineus.IMG_9770

And there they all are.

IMG_9765

Only a potholed drive to the golf club and a couple of fraught journeys from car to tables before I was able to relax with a glass of fizz, safe in the knowledge that the flowers (and the bosom!) were in the right place.

With thanks as ever to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden for hosting this lovely meme.

30 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – Happy New Year!

  1. Sam

    Congratulations on producing so many lovely table arrangements. What a feat. Careful – you’ll be asked again, I’m sure! I’m glad you were able to relax and enjoy the evening 🙂

    Reply
  2. homeslip

    You did it! Wow I bet everyone was really impressed. Did you seal the euphorbia? Mine is flowering here and the lime green flowers look fantastic but I would be concerned about picking it for a vase because of the sap. Love your clock faces too.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Thanks Homeslip. No, I didn’t seal them, but would definitely recommend it – there was sap,dripping everywhere. I ended up so short on time I just cut and plonked!

      Reply
  3. Cathy

    Necessity is the mother of invention and that is what this meme has taught us – you had agreed to provide the table decorations so you found material to do so. Well done you – and what a range of material you managed to find, such intriguing choices. What feedback did you get from the guests? ps hope the strapless undergarment did the job satisfactorily 😉

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      I had a few nice comments but to be honest I’m not sure they were as noticeable as the ones I did in October as that was a day time event. And yes, all was well held, not that there’s much to speak of 😉

      Reply
      1. Cathy

        Perhaps some people take table decorations for granted – like knives and forks…? 😉 Hope you felt your efforts were worth it!

  4. Julie

    Well done and what an achievement – I would not like to be making all those table arrangements at this time of year and especially when you had an undergarment crisis to resolve!! They look beautiful – I can see you will have a job for life.

    Reply
  5. Elizabeth

    I think you rose to the challenge beautifully – all your arrangements are beautiful. You did well to find so much material at this time of the year. Shame about the silver spray – it’s a bit of a mystery why online suppliers won’t ship to the Isle of Wight!

    Reply
  6. Kris P

    Very well done! I think the addition of the little clocks was inspired. Your colors fit together well too. If you’re not careful, this could become an annual commission.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Thanks Kris. I hoping I can hang my arranging scissors up at the same time the OH steps down as captain (October). Not that I’m counting the days…;-)

      Reply
  7. Hannah

    The coiled up flowers of the Wulfenii and the pinks of the Leptospermum and Rhodochiton make so many lovely table flowers, your did a wonderful job, Jen!

    Reply
  8. Chloris

    Oh well done, how lovely. A wonderful choice of flowers. Do you sow the seeds from Rhodochiton? The seed heads swell up like plump little bums and when they are ripe they germinate readily. I think they need to be fresh because when I have bought them they didn’ t germinate at all.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Chloris, thank you.
      And yes, I have sown some Rhodochiton, but I bought the seed. They have come up, but I’m not sure how tricky they’ll be to grow on. However, if it stays this mild I’ll still have the original plant!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

