Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – December 2015

IMG_9678

Looking at the weather on my phone on Sunday morning provided a stark reminder of just how balmy life is down south:

St Helens, Isle of Wight 12C

Durham, (where my daughter’s at university) 0C

And while I was pottering around the garden taking photos of precocious December blooms, she was making this:

Snow

The rose above (which featured as buds in last week’s Wordless Wednesday) is an inherited one and I sadly don’t know its name.

Whilst plants such as the Salvias have ground to a halt, there are plenty more rose varieties still clinging on, including Rosa Flower Carpet PinkIMG_9692

R. St Swithun,IMG_9709

and finally, R. Jubilee Celebration.  I have to confess to having to lift this bloom as its head was definitely hanging down, but that had the benefit of keeping it immaculate.  This December is getting ridiculous!IMG_9716

Equally mad is the continued blooming of the Gazanias in the trough by the gate,IMG_9680

kept company by the Chocolate Cosmos, Cosmos atrosanguineus.  The trouble with them both still looking so good is that I can’t face pulling them out and bringing them under cover. Something I may well live to regret.  IMG_9683

Another tender plant I haven’t brought in is the Rhodochiton atrosanguineus, but as it’s taller than me and completely twined around the obelisk, I’m not sure how I would anyway.  The good news is that I have seedlings already through in the greenhouse, so hopefully I’m covered.IMG_9715

Another climber still looking good (and finally a plant that’s actually season appropriate) is the Clematis ‘Freckles’.IMG_9711

And to finish, one of my Zaluzianskya ovata cuttings, already flowering in its seed tray.  Bonkers.IMG_9696

With many thanks to Carol at May Dreams Gardens  for hosting everyone’s GBBD.  Why don’t you pop over and have a look at what everyone else has blooming now?

2 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – December 2015

  1. Julie

    The north/south weather divide seems even more exaggerated this year than I remember. Your roses are beautiful and so is your Freckles Clematis. Here in Bedfordshire although its seasonally appropriate Freckles is already looking weather worn. Hope the good weather continues for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

