Daily reminders to give thanks

IMG_9724

To ensure the ongoing joy (!) of access to work emails on my phone, I have to change my phone password monthly.  Having run through the birthdays of my immediate family, I’ve recently changed it to my mother’s birthday.

Mum died in 2006 but she was an awesome woman, a brilliant, knowledgeable gardener and teacher, and I still miss her.  I’ve mentioned her a couple of times on Duver Diary, but I’m not sure I’ve ever really given her the credit she deserves for making me the gardener (and woman)  I am today.  And as the garden here develops (alongside my increasing obsession with it) it makes me sad she’s not still around to see it.

So, already having multiple daily reminders of her, in the form of punching in my phone password, it was uncanny to open January’s ‘English Garden’ magazine to see the photo above.

I knew immediately that the building was a shell house, commissioned by Darina Allen, at Ballymaloe Cookery School as I took mum there in (I think) 2003 for a one day course about decorative vegetable potagers with Joy Larkcom.

And, whilst the talk was interesting, what was particularly memorable was the stay at Ballymaloe and its stunning grounds.  It really is a very special place, and whilst the courses are more focussed on cookery, they also run a number of gardening courses and, if my experience is anything to go by, they come highly recommended.

I was happily reminiscing about our trip whilst reading the article, when I turned the page and stopped in my tracks.

IMG_9725

 

Spot the snap?  This is the photo that sits on my bedside table.  Not the best photo, but a very special one because of all the happy memories it evokes.

Thanks for everything mum.

IMG_9728

9 thoughts on “Daily reminders to give thanks

  1. alison

    What an inspiring and thoughtful blog. I miss my Mum and would love to have her back to see my garden. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  2. Mel Pickup

    This brought a tear to my eye as I’m sure it will to my Mum’s too. I’m lucky enough to still have her here but often think of your Mum. She was an inspiration & consequently pops in to my thoughts as I go about my daily life (admittedly more for me with the things she taught me about baking rather than gardening!!) x

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Thanks Mel. You’re one of a very small number who read this who actual knew her, so thanks for commenting.
      And tell your lovely mum I’m expecting to see her here again next summer!

      Reply
  3. Sam

    It’s lovely that you and your mum shared a love of gardening and she inspired you and you have happy memories. Ballymaloe looks a fascinating place.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

