End of month view – November 2015

IMG_9650

Whilst there are certain areas of the garden looking reasonably tidy, like the left hand Lavender Bed above, the majority of the garden is in a state of chaos, like the right hand one below. Not only is this bed full of self seeded Lychnis coronaria and Verbena bonariensis corpses, but sadly it’s also pretty full of couch grass.  I think a big dig is called for.IMG_9651

The Swing Beds are also looking almost completely devoid of colour, although they are now marginally tidier than the photos below as I did some chopping back at the same time as planting some Dichelostemma ida maia bulbs, bought from the Avon Bulbs sale.  Hope they’re not in too late!

I still havent tackled the climbing roses as I think gauntlets and a ladder will be required.IMG_9656IMG_9659

The grass beds have had the Zinnias and a few lingering Verbascum pulled pulled out, and are now back to the bare bones of the Stipa tenuissima along the back, with a muddle of forget me nots and self seeded Cerinthe major in front (and let’s be honest, in the path).  I’ve added a few more Narcissi in this bed, but it does makes me a bit sad to think I’ll be waiting until April for anything to happen.IMG_9661

The Mid Century Bed is probably the most colourful with the Salvia ‘Dyson’s Scarlet’ and Rhodochiton atrosanguineus still blooming well, albeit rather manically.IMG_9652

One thing I am excited about in this (easterly) end of the garden, are my Agapanthus grown from seed planted at the back of the strawberry bed.  Although they didn’t flower this year (others planted in front of the greenhouse did) they’ve grown enormously and I’m hoping they will like the reflected heat from the wall and bloom next summer.IMG_9654

At the other end of the garden the Bronze Bed has nearly been put to bed.  The ‘Happy Single Date’ Dahlias which provided so many blooms and so much pleasure this year still haven’t died back, but they do seem to have finally given up flowering.  They’ll be nothing else in this bed until the Hamamelis flowers in February.IMG_9671

However, behind the Bronze Bed, the Melianthus major is madly continuing to produce new leaves.IMG_9672

Other sources of hope and optimism are provided by late season cuttings (or perennial seedlings awaiting a permanent home),IMG_9664

bulbsIMG_9667

and early sweet peas in the greenhouse.IMG_9668

as well as perky succulents.

They’ve been moved under the glass verandah, but are probably in need of being properly inside if continued perkiness is to be assured!IMG_9674

With thanks to Helen at the Patient Gardener for hosting everyone’s End of Month Views.

 

13 thoughts on “End of month view – November 2015

  1. alison

    Loved reading your latest post. It was very heartening (meant in the most kindly and empathic way possible) to see your garden looking not unlike mine, in all its early winter state! But how boring would it be not to have the changing of the seasons and all that they bring to our gardens. I know from your regular posts just how delightful your garden looks throughout the year. And what a wonderful glimpse of the bay you have from beyond your grass beds!
    I have saved some Agapanthus seeds; would now be the time to plant them or have I left it too late?

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Alison, thanks, I think 😉
      It’s a funny thing but as I’ve gone on with this blog I think I’ve become more ‘honest’ with my posts – not least because I like to blog as a record for me, and if I hide all the problems how am I ever going to address them?
      And I couldn’t agree more about the seasons. Whilst I moan about the dark mornings (and even more the short afternoons as I’m terrible at getting going and then the next thing I know it’s dark) I do love the contrast.
      With regard to the Agapanthus seeds I think it is a bit late, but you could try a few now and leave the rest for spring. But be careful they don’t get (or worse still stay) soggy. They wouldn’t like that.

      Reply
  2. Cathy

    There’s such wonderful growth in your garden! Mine is starting to look a bit bare. And the size of those Stipas (I know the flowerheads are there too … but still! I’m of the opinion that it’s better to have a little mess and not to lose some precious self-seeders … it all looks quite luscious still, at the end of November!

    Reply
  3. rusty duck

    I think all our gardens have a similar look this time of year and we all have the same pangs about them. Chaos is certainly not far removed from here! That Rhodochiton has been blooming for months, tempted to try it next year.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      I bought the Rhodochiton as a plant, but I did sow some bought seeds in the summer which seem to have germinated.
      Chloris said they were easy seeds to collect from the plant – you harvest them (at some stage) after the trumpet bit falls off. If you’d like some, let me know and I’ll research when they should be harvested and then send them over.

      Reply
  4. Sam

    You’ve still got quite a lot going on in your garden and your Rhodochiton doesn’t look as though it’s bothered by the fact that winter is here! Lots of lovely shoots and seedlings for next year too. Do your sweet peas get a very good head start? I was going to leave mine until next year.

    Reply
  5. digwithdorris

    Considering how late in the year it is your garden is looking great. I love your succulent collection, I have got mine in the diningroom which has raised one or two eyebrows 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

