In a vase on Monday – cheating again

2015-10-30 10.06.12

As I did once before, today I’m including a stunning arrangement prepared by someone else.

This was in the beautiful Bodysgallen Hall where my sister and I stayed for our recent Welsh sojourn (see post about our visit to Bodnant Garden here).

The thing that first caught my eye about the arrangement was what I thought were unusual cream coloured roses, but on closer inspection, they turned out to be ornamental cabbages!  I’ve seen seed for these for sale, but it’s never occurred to me to grow them for cutting.  Perhaps I should have a rethink…2015-10-30 10.06.21

As well as the cabbages, were Alstromeria2015-10-30 10.06.33

and Gladioli.2015-10-30 10.06.12

Although the gardens at Bodysgallen are award winning (and I’ve included a few photos below to show its quality) the only flowers I saw in the grounds which could have contributed to this arrangement were a bed of gladiolli, so I think we have to assume the rest were bought.  I know this rather against the grain of IaVoM, but I hope you’ll forgive me.

Thanks as ever to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden for hosting this entertaining and informative meme.

2015-10-30 10.11.02

2015-10-30 10.09.58

2015-10-30 10.07.50

2015-10-30 10.08.59

5 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – cheating again

  1. Kris P

    What a lovely place! I laughed when I saw the cabbages masquerading as roses. One of the bloggers on our side of the pond (Loree at danger garden) issued a challenge to use ornamental cabbage or kale in a creative way in the garden or in a vase. Ornamental cabbage was in short supply in hot, dry southern California so I passed on the competition but, had I seen this arrangement prior to the cut-off, I might have had the inspiration I needed.

    Reply
  2. Cathy

    Most intriguing cabbages! Interesting to see a larger scale vase like this too, although more than half of it is foliage so that is something we could learn from. We couldn’t squeeze in a visit to the gardens at Bodysgallen Hall when we did our North Wales trip but they look worth visiting – posh place to stay though and must have been lovely for you and your sister.

    Reply
  3. Cathy

    I love that picture of the verbena and sweet peas! Those ornamental cabbage are quite effective. They are sold as autumn bedding plants here, but they have very short stems so I have never tried growing them for a vase.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

