In a vase on Monday – long stems at last!

IMG_8893

As I mentioned in my Cutting Garden post yesterday the stems on many plants are getting longer and longer as the season progresses,and so today I thought I’d splash out on a rather bigger arrangement than normal.

I’m again using my lovely sister-gifted Orla Kiely vase which is proving incredibly versatile and has a good heavy base so it won’t topple over, even when heavily laden!

As well as my sunflowers, H. cuc Italian WhiteIMG_8894

and stalwart Salvias, Salvia horminum Oxford BlueIMG_8898

I added some quite long branches of the shoo fly plant, Nicandra physaloides, a member of the potato family.  I’ve grown this from seed in the past and in fact have a couple of self seeded plants in the garden, but these branches were cut from my neighbours’ plant which is shrub sized at about 5ft tall by 4ft wide!IMG_8895

I like the way the dark buds picked up the dark centre of the sunflowers.  Meanwhile, the Salvias were supposed to pick up on the purple blooms of the Nicandra, but the two Nicandra flowers I had fell off in the arranging.  Oops.  But here’s another one peaking out…IMG_8896

With thanks as ever to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden who hosts our IaVoM meme.

PS.  Hey, look what opened up as soon as my back was turned:

IMG_8899

19 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – long stems at last!

  1. Christina

    We’ve both chosen large arrangements this week; it is fun to use flowers with long stems, it often produces a slightly wayward, natural look that I like. Lucky you still having sunflowers.

    Reply
  2. Cathy

    Oh how lovely Jen! I have already got some of these sunflower seeds ready for next year, and fresh Oxford blue salvia – so I can look forward to this combination next year too, although I won’t have the nicandra! Are the sunflower blooms smaller now than they were? Thanks for sharing

    Reply
  3. Hannah

    The pleated look of the sunflower petals makes them so twirly in your sumptuous vase, Jen, and I love purple with yellow, so all the Salvia looks stunning. I like the black bracts on the Nicandra flowers, they do match your sunflower disks so well and are so unusual. The little purple flowers are darling too, with the stars in the throats.

    Reply
  4. Kris P

    I love that soft yellow with the purple. I had to look up Nicandra. It’s new to me and very pretty but, as it didn’t make it into my western garden guide, I suspect that means it won’t grow here – what a pity!

    Reply
  5. Eliza Waters

    Love this large arrangement with the contrasting yellow and purple. I’ve never seen Nicandra before and wow, is it a great looking flower. I’ll have to see if I can find some seeds!

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Thanks Joanna. It really was an unexpected treat when the flowers opened – particularly after I was berating myself for knocking the others off!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

