In a vase on Monday – carnival!

photo 1 (4)

For some warped reason it gives me great pleasure to post a work vase when I’m not actually at work!  This vase was on my desk the week before last, but got bumped by last week’s red, white and blue concoction.

I’d deliberately created a very jolly vase as I knew it was going to be a tricky week at work, and so it proved to be, but I found genuine comfort (well at least distraction) looking at my jolly blooms.

Anyway, now I’m having a week off for the first time since April and I hope I’m having my own personal carnival, even though I’m in Croatia, not Brazil.

So back to the vase, as well as a couple of old favourites, Dianthus Green Trick and Antirrhinum majus Orange Wonder, I’ve also added some of Cathy’s sunflowers.  You may remember these were the ones kindly sent as seeds by Cathy from Rambling in the Garden who hosts In a vase on Monday.  They didn’t quite turn out as expected, but now that the huge original blooms have been cut, the later blooms are proving much smaller and much more suitable for cutting, so they’ve been added to mix.  In addition there were the first couple of blooms from the dahlia I added to the new Bronze Border, Dahlia Happy Single Date.photo 2 (3)

And providing an incredible match – this Zinnia.  Now this is far more orange that any of my Zinnia Raspberry Cordial, but that’s what it’s supposed to be.  I think it’s a gorgeous colour and I must remember to save seed to see if I can grow it again next year.photo 3 (1)

Do pop over to Rambling in the Garden to see what everyone else is up to, meanwhile, I’m heading back to the Pina colada…

10 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – carnival!

  1. Cathy

    I am so pleased your vase was able to provide a small distraction from a tricky work week – it really is a joy to have blooms from the garden in view while we carry out our tasks, whether at home or work, isn’t it? It is indeed a carnival collection of blooms – and like you, I found the smaller blooms of the side shoots easier to use in a vase than the first bigger heads. Earth Walker also has blooms on side shoots but the stems are too short to make them useable, not so the Ruby Eclipse. I will buy fresh seed of RE for next year though – we were both a little disappointed, I think! Was your ‘orange’ zinnia meant to be a raspberry shade? Good luck with collecting seed – and will you take cuttings of your Green Trick again? Enjoy your holiday – you will enjoy it all the more with being back at work, i guess!

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Cathy. I’m not sure about the seed collecting as Christina has sensibly pointed out they might not come true because of all the different Zinnias being together and thus cross pollinated. And yes, the orange one should have been the raspberry cordial.
      And yes, second wave of dianthus cuttings looking good…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

