Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – June 2015

IMG_7711

Aside from the roses, sweet peas and peonies, there are numerous other blooms blooming this month.  These Calendula ‘Bronze Beauty’ are taking up probably too much of the new Bronze Bed, but as little else is flowering there yet, I’ll indulge their cheery contribution.  One other bloom flowering here is another one grown from seed – this one, Nasturtium Caribbean Crush, I’m also not entirely convinced about, but, as with the marigold, I’m not turfing it out until there’s something else to look at.IMG_7713

In a similar colour vein, in the trough by the front steps I’ve got a dark purple Pelargonium, Gazania and Parrot’s Beak, Lotus berthelotii, combo going on.  It’s still filling out, but when the sun’s shining and the Gazanias are fully out, it makes a jolly greeting to visitors.IMG_7709

Meanwhile, in the new Mid Century Bed, the planned ‘Bruised’ colour palette has been completely frustrated by numerous Ranunculus in this shocking cerise.  The bulbs I planted were labled Ranunculus Purple Heart, but not one of them has come up any deeper than this one, and, like so many gardening ‘mistakes’ I love them!IMG_7715

In the Grass Bed, which has finally been denuded of its tatty forget me nots, I’ve planted a few of these Catananche caerulea which look lovely together with the stipa behind and the self seeded Cerinthe in front.  According to the RHS website they can be propagated by division in spring or by root cuttings in winter.  I should really diary to do that as they’re lovely – although only about 60cm tall they have the same airiness of Verbena bonariensis, and work well in a bed where I wouldn’t want anything too tall.IMG_7717

Lastly, one of many self seeded poppies.  I have pulled a few out, but mostly I just enjoy them, wherever they’ve landed.IMG_7718

With thanks to Carol at May Dreams Gardens  for hosting everyone’s GBBD.

7 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – June 2015

  1. AnnetteM

    You have some lovely flowers out just now. I had a similar experience with what I thought were pale pink Ranunculus that turned out to be a very bright pink indeed. You have to love them though as you say. I also love Gazanias as they are such a cheery flower and bloom for such a long time. Yours is a lovely colour.

    Reply
  2. Chloris

    I love the Calendula and Gazanias are so prettty. . I bought the purple Ranunculus too and exactly the same thing happened, they are all pink. I only bought them because they were such a gorgeous deep purple colour on the packet.

    Reply
  3. Cathy

    Lovely flowers – I was a bit upset by the Calendula though! Did you buy them from T&M? I bought ‘Sherbet Fizz’ and ‘Touch of Red’ this year – and they all look exactly like each other and like yours. The ‘mistake’ ranunculus is gorgeous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

