Greenhouse Review – mid May 2015

IMG_7257

I was standing in the greenhouse on Sunday and, looking around, I said to my husband, ‘I think things have got a little out of hand’.

IMG_7255

There is no doubt that my seed growing and cutting taking activities have reached almost epidemic proportions and I can’t seem to stop.  However, these photos do show the ‘before’ positionIMG_7258

I’m delighted to report that since these photos were taken I have moved numerous seed trays outside and the greenhouse is looking a little less crammed.

I still haven’t moved all the tender plants outside, which I’m sure is over cautious, but I’ve yet to plan all my pots and so it’s not clear where they should go anyway. IMG_7259

And there are so many more than last year because of, yes, all those cuttings.IMG_7265

IMG_7267

Last month I was fretting about planting out my sweet peas because I needed the pots to plant my peas and beans, well as you can see, the root trainers still haven’t been evacuated, and so the beans have had to find alternative lodgings.IMG_7263

One place (of three so far) where I have planted out sweet peas is on one of the willow supports in the greenhouse.  The support sits just behind the small table and chairs and I’m hoping when I sit at the table, which I often do to write plant labels (of which there are very many) I’ll be able to enjoy both the blooms and the scent.  I’ve never grown sweet peas in the greenhouse before and I’m intrigued to know how strong the scent will be.  One of the sweet peas I’ve chosen isn’t actually scented (Lathyrus tingitanus) but the other one, Lathyrus Juliet, is, so here’s hoping she can do the job on her own!

IMG_7260

Other plants growing away strongly are my dahlias.  These ones, Bishop of Canterbury, were stored as tubers last year as they had been grown in pots that I wanted to plant up for spring.

IMG_7261

And guess what?  I’ve recently taken a few cuttings of both these and Dahlia Roxy, the other dahlia I had from last year.  There really is no hope for me!

Perhaps by next month the greenhouse will seed tray free, but I somehow doubt it – what about the biennials?

With many thanks to Julie and her beautiful, organised greenhouse at Peonies and Posies for hosting this Greenhouse meme.

10 thoughts on “Greenhouse Review – mid May 2015

  1. Julie

    It is all looking very organised in your greenhouse and I love seeing that I am not the only one with seed tray overload!! Your willow support looks lovely as it is and will be even better when your sweet peas are flowering. Will you keep any of the tender plants in the greenhouse for the summer or does everything move outside? I have managed to start off my beans but really need to get sweetcorn, courgettes and squashes going when I get home. It is starting to feel late to be sowing these seeds but I guess they will catch up if we have a good summer.

    Thank you again for joining in this month & I am looking forward to seeing how things have changed by June.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      You’re right, I’m sure they’ll all catch up. My carefully successionally sown Broad Beans all look exactly the same now, I wonder why I bothered!
      I do keep a few tender plants inside, like scented geraniums for the table, and my two big plumbagos, but otherwise things tend to get potted up into containers and moved outside.

      Reply
  2. AnnetteM

    I am wondering what will be hardy enough to overwinter in my little growhouse. Probably nothing if it is a cold winter, but that won’t stop me trying. I love your red pelargoniums – you must save a fortune taking cuttings of those.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Annette I do sympathise about your cold winters.
      We had a ridiculous evening in the autumn when frost was first forecast and we crashed around in the dark bringing pots into the greenhouse (or even conservatory). What we completely missed were two small citrus trees in pots (in theory the OH’s) which have stayed outside all winter without a problem.
      Perhaps you could go down the windowsill route for a few cuttings?

      Reply
      1. AnnetteM

        Our windowsills are very narrow, but I do have a Utility room which is OK for a while. It gets a bit hot, though, as we are reluctant to change out an old very inefficient boiler – well it dries all my washing!

  3. Christina

    It does all look a bit chockablock. Like the idea of the sweetpeas in the greenhouse but won’t it be too hot and they’ll boult. Mine is empty by comparison now, mainly because it is just too hot. 40 degrees C most days now, but help is at hand, I’ve just taken delivery of an exterior shading contraption which will hopefully mean it doesn’t get quite so hot. Seeds have to be grown inside the house now!

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Christina, I just don’t know about the sweet peas, but I thought if Julie at P&P could do it, why not try?
      It rarely gets that hot in there, even though it’s south facing. As long as the door’s open and the vents are open I’m hoping the airflow will keep things below scorching. Fingers crossed!

      Reply
  4. Donna@Gardens Eye View

    Oh I had to laugh as I think the same thing as I look at my grow station in the basement…the greenhouse in the basement perhaps I should call it! 🙂

    I think if I had an actual greenhouse I would be doing much the same with trays and pots filled everywhere…I think it is a wonderful obsession!

    Reply
  5. Cathy

    But at least it should empty as quickly as it filled…. well, hopefully! Perhaps I need to avoid taking cuttings for the foreseeable future…. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

