End of month view – April 2015

IMG_7009

This has been such a glorious April and I have so enjoyed all my bulbs in the spring sunshine. Above, in the Grass Bed, are Tulip ‘Spring Green’ together with two different Narcissi.  I had originally planted ‘Sinopel’, which is supposed to have a rather green eye, but I’d noticed last year they weren’t repeating well, so I topped them up with ‘Lieke’ which look quite similar. Here they are close up in the copper pot by the steps:IMG_7003

The tulips in the Swing Beds have been a revelation.  I have never planted so many tulips directly in the ground, fearing marauders. Last year I planted a lot in pots, with the idea I would move them in and out of gaps in the bed, but it was all too much like hard work and I also wasn’t so keen on the tulips I’d selected anyway.  This year I took my chances, planted them in the ground and (unlike the dratted crocuses) all have been left well alone.  Hurrah!

When I posted my Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day post on the 15th, I included a picture of the tulips below and said I thought they were Tulip ‘Mistress’ as they were my ‘Earlies’.  However, I wasn’t convinced, and so yesterday asked the very helpful and knowledgeable Karen at Peter Nyssen  (where I’d bought the bulbs from), and she set me straight.  These ones are actually the ‘mids’ ‘Pink Impression.’

Although they were glorious, they didn’t last long as sadly the very windy weather mid month blew their large, blowsy blooms to bits.IMG_6977

However, in a fit of mad extravagance, I had planted two further tulips – ‘Mistress’ and ‘Menton.’   And although ‘Mistress’ was supposed to flower in April, and ‘Menton’ in May, they’re actually working better together than I think either would have with the ‘Pink Impressions’ and I’m just loving their sugared almond girliness. IMG_7022

IMG_7018

Furthermore, my new Peter Nyssen contact has assured me that both the ‘Pink Impressions’ and the ‘Mentons’ are reliably perennial (up to 5 years or so) as long as you plant them deeply enough, and dead head and feed with a high potash feed as soon as they’ve finished flowering.

I do hope this is the case as it wasn’t a trivial outlay and it would be great if I only had to replace the ‘Mistresses.’ (I’m sure there’s a joke there somewhere…)

The two new beds and the Shady Bed were shown in Sunday’s Resolve and Realise post but I will add a close up of the Bronze Bed not shown previously, showing the Tulip ‘Prinses Irene’ (bought in pots which I assume is why they’re so short), the Libertia and one of the new buds on the Calendula ‘Sunset Buff’.

IMG_7001

The hostas are just starting to emerge in the (aptly named) Hosta Bed.  You can see the OH has been out with the blue pellets while my back was turned.  Sigh.IMG_7029

IMG_7028

The Drive Bed isn’t looking too exciting at the moment, with few daffodils and some rather leggy Erysimum Ivory Giant, but if you look closely, as a result of more extravagance with Peter Nyssen, there are dozens of Allium buds just waiting for their moment.  If I’m lucky, it will coincide with the Snow Goose rose flowering above.  We’ll see!IMG_7006

And to finish, my rather paltry showing of Fritillaria Meliagris, but I do love them.

I honestly believe there are more than last year, and on that basis I think I’ll continue my quest for lawn domination.  Hey, for less than £25 I can buy another 200 bulbs.  That’s got to make sense. Or is it just me?IMG_7000

With many thanks to Helen at the Patient Gardener for hosting everyone’s End of Month Views.

28 thoughts on “End of month view – April 2015

  1. Christina

    Great combinations on your plantings. I grow Menton, it is a gorgeous tulip. The important thing is that they don’t receive too much water during the summer.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Thanks Joanna. The blue flowers are all self seeded forget me nots. Some people are a bit sniffy about them, but I think they’re lovely!

      Reply
  2. Helen Johnstone

    If you are looking for a perennial orange tulip instead of Princess Irene I can recommend Ballerina, has a lovely scent as well. I think tulips do better in the ground if you don’t have rodents eating them. Thanks for joining in again is month.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Thanks for the suggestion Helen. After the fun I’ve had with the tulips in other beds I’m excited to have some new beds to plans for!

      Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Thanks Chloris. I’ve been very chuffed with them but of course the joke is, because they didn’t flower in order, it wasn’t really what I’d planned! Ah serendipity!

      Reply
  3. Julieanne

    You have some lovely Tulips flowering. I’m a fan of Spring Green too and I like it planted with your daffs and forget-me-nots. The Swing Beds must be lovely to swing and sit in.

    Fritillaria Meliagris – there is no such thing as too many 🙂

    Reply
  4. Alison

    Came here from Helen’s EoMV post, where I just today added my own post, a few days late. Your tulips are very pretty, love your description of them as “sugared-almond.” I love Princess Irene, it’s my favorite tulip.

    Reply
  5. Linnae

    Hello!
    Thanks for sharing. I love tulips, and we seem to have the climate for them to repeat. I keep making up reasons why I need just a few more…in each flowerbed. Happy spring!

    Reply
  6. AnnetteM

    Your beds look so cheerful and the forget-me-nots look great as a contrast to the tulip colours. I have pulled mine up before, but you have convinced me to leave some this year. I suppose I am scared they will take over the whole garden. I love tulips, but I never buy that many in case I don’t like them. I definitely need more bulbs between my perennials though so will make some notes of the ones that flower again and maybe order some online next year.

    Reply
  7. jenhumm116 Post author

    Hi Annette, I don’t think I’ve ever had so many forget-me-nots, but I’m loving them this year, and I can always yank them out!
    However, I’m worried the whole garden will look rather sad when they and the bulbs go over – I’m not sure any of my perennials (and certainly none of my annuals) will be coming on stream so soon, Ah well, I guess I’ll just enjoy the show while it lasts!
    And on the subject of re-flowering tulips, the lovely Karen at Peter Nyssen provided me with a spreadsheet she’s created of the ones they consider perennial. I’m sure she’d be happy to share it with you. (And if not, I can)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

