Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – April 2015

IMG_6911

After a week away in, to be honest, rather disappointing weather, it was glorious to come home to spring sunshine and a very springy garden.

Last year I planted Avignon tulips in the Swing Beds, but whilst in isolation, they were stunning, I somehow didn’t like them in context, and so replaced them this year with a number of pinker varieties – Mistress, Pink Impression and Menton.  These ones are Pink Impression, and have definitely made an impression on me!

Alongside the tulips are numerous Euphorbias – here E. Characias in that fabulous zingy lime green.IMG_6935

My old favourite Melianthus major is continuing to flower – there must be a dozen flowers heads on it now.IMG_6918

Nearby the Wisteria is poised, and if the weather continues like this, will be flowering by the weekend.IMG_6919

Something new last year which I never blogged about as they looked rather paltry, were some Fritillarias I planted in the lawn in front of the oak bed.  Last year there were few flowers and a number of those had been flattened by the dog, so I wrote them off as a bad idea.  This year, I do believe they’ve increased slightly and, with the added advantage of the lawn now being smaller because of the new Bronze Bed, they seem more impressive.  I think I’ll add a few more in the autumn.

IMG_6916

In the Grass Bed there is a small patch of unidentified tulips in amongst the forget me nots, with some further bulbs to come.  IMG_6906

In the Drive Bed the Erysimum Ivory Giant originally grown from seed are just starting to flower again.  They got a little leggy but I cut them back hard and they seem to have bounced back.

IMG_6939

Also destined for the Drive bed are these Pulmonaria Blue Ensign.  I bought a pot last year and then divided the clump into three but never got around to planting them out.  I think they’re work well with the Erysimum and paler Narcissis in the Drive Bed – if I can actually get round to getting them in!

IMG_6947

In the predominantly white Shady Bed, two newcomers this year – dainty Anemone Blanda

IMG_6951

and rather more thuggish white honesty (Lunaria annua).

IMG_6952

And to finish a delight of daffs:IMG_6940

IMG_6943

IMG_6944

IMG_6942

IMG_6926

IMG_6917

With thanks as ever to Carol at May Dreams Gardens who host all of our GBBD.

6 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – April 2015

  1. rusty duck

    I love wisteria. I had one in a previous garden, but it was a garden vulnerable to frost and a few times I lost the blooms just as they were opening. Heartbreaking, but not a problem for you by the sea.

    Reply
  2. Cathy

    Oh your wisteria is away ahead of mine – I checked on it yesterday, but it will be lapping up all this sun. Mine is normally in full flower at the end of May so it is still early. Lovely first photo with those tulips!

    Reply
  3. fawnjenee

    I love the coral tulip with that bright yellow, such happy colors. Erysimum Ivory Giant is very pretty too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

