Resolve and realise – March 2015

IMG_6466

Well a much better month than last (although I’m a day late posting!) with all jobs pretty much completed.

There were many jobs carried forward:

  • mulch all beds

Hmm, not quite there, but the vast majority done, so think we can tick this one off

  • prune and feed remaining roses

Tick.  Herewith a photo of my roses from last year,  rather than a pruned and fed twig, but trust me.IMG_2873

  • pot up dahlia tubersIMG_6470

I have some dahlias in the ground, some that were overwintered in the greenhouse in a large terracotta pot, and then these few, which were dug up and overwintered as tubers.  I think it was because they were in pots I wanted to use for something else, but it’s all a bit of a blur now, and I certainly can’t remember their variety.  Oops.

  • chit potatoes (and decide growing approach)IMG_6467

I finally got round to buying some potatoes – Ratte and Anya this year.  I’ve also bought some potato growing bags for the first time, so I think I’ll put some in the ground (in the top ‘tier’ of the veg patch) and some in the potato bags.  I’m planning to put the potato bags in the area of the veg patch behind the raspberry canes.  It’s pretty dark but I did grow potatoes there before in the ground, but then they got blighted.  Clearly I can’t grow them in the ground again, but hopefully they will do ok in the bags and make a difficult area productive.

  • sow chillies, tomatoes and hardy annuals

Tick.  The seed tray at the top shows my particularly perky looking Padron Peppers.  There may be a few more hardy annuals to sow, but I’ve definitely sown all the tomatoes (Sungold, Gardeners Delight, Ferline, Black Cherry and Country Taste)

  • plant out broad beansIMG_6457

I need to provide some support for these, put at least they’re in the ground.  I have a second wave now in the cold frame which I’ll plant out in a week or so.

and new for March

  • plant aubergines

Tick.  I’ve never had much success with Aubergines, but I love to eat them, so I’m trying yet again.  This year’s variety is Kaberi from Chiltern.  Has anyone tried it?

  • finish planning two new beds and start to buy seeds/plants accordingly.

A lot of time has been spent daydreaming about what to put in the new beds and a few things have already been planted which I can show in the EOMV post, but one thing I will disclose here is my recent extravagance with David Austin:

For the Mid Century bed

2 x Munstead Wood
2 x Jubilee Celebration
1 x Falstaff Climbing

And for the Bronze Bed

2 x Pat Austin

 Rose Munstead Wood, picture courtesy of the David Austin website

So for next month

Nothing to carry forward – hurrah!

New for April

  • Prune various shrubs that probably should have been pruned already
  • Continue planting seeds, pricking out and potting on
  • Plan cutting garden
  • Provide supports for broad beans and plant out second wave
  • Start to erect structures for beans and sweet peas
  • Tidy up shady bed and lavender beds
  • Continue planting up the two new beds

If you’d like to join in with Resolve and Realise, please do, just leave a link to your post in the comments.

 

3 thoughts on “Resolve and realise – March 2015

    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      No, no second sowings – I always have way too many. Each year I think I might sell the excess at the local boot fair, but I can never face the early start!

      Reply
      1. Cathy

        I have never done successional sowing before but will use my records form this year to decide if it is worth it next year to fill in gaps.

Leave a Reply

