Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – March 2015

IMG_6235

A late foray into the garden and the combination of low light, macro lens and windy conditions have made for rather fuzzy photos, so apologies!

The view above shows the bed running by the kitchen wondow which contains the pink Rose Flower carpet,  However, as you can see, both the Leucojum aestivum and the Narcissus Tete a tete seem to have proliferated since last year, and the rose is hardly to be seen.  The Phormium to the right of the photo is the one I’d like to get rid of and replace with something for winter interest, but annoyingly, it looks quite good in this grouping.  Hmmm.

After my Lonely and Blue Wordless Wednesday post, I’ve now had many more Irises come into flower in the big copper pot.  What I can’t quite believe is that I planted such a mix.  I haven’t had time to look back at my order, but there appear to be three different blue/purples and a solitary yellow one.  Bizarre.

IMG_6203

IMG_6202

IMG_6201

The hellebores are now at their best, unlike the photos

and here is a shot of the Hebe I arranged with some of them in Monday’s vase.IMG_6213

There are also a number of Euphorbias in zingy green bloom,

as well as a few Forget me nots just started to flower.  I like this slightly darker one.IMG_6226

The self sown primula I mentioned last month is still flowering wellIMG_6227

and has been joined by a new one I couldn’t resist, for sale at Osborne House,  (post to follow).IMG_6231

And to finish, a little grouping of bulbs by the door, Narcissus Tete a tete, Narcissus Elka and Muscari Armeniacum Big Smile.

IMG_6217

The Narcissus Elka,  (close up below), is the one I’m growing for the wedding.  This is a ‘trial’ pot I left in the cold frame when all its peers got moved to the fridge two weeks ago.  I’m delighted with the colouring and the size and shape of the blooms.

So what of the others?  Well, contra to the majority of advice received, I’ve left them in the fridge!  They were allowed out for good behaviour last Monday, and I think I’ll do the same tomorrow, but they’re looking fine and have definitely been stopped in their tracks by the combination of cold and dark.

The Muscari for the wedding are Muscari Latifolium, not the one above.  You may recall these were looking a little behind and so spent the week before last in the greenhouse.  They put on rapid growth and so were moved out to the garden, but I’m thinking they might need to come back into the greenhouse as, not surprisingly, they’ve slowed right down again.

Thankfully, there aren’t too many pots, and so all this moving around and in and out is more entertaining than challenging.  My fingers are still firmly crossed, but I’m feeling a little more confident than previously.  Watch this space…IMG_6214

With thanks as ever to Carol at May Dreams Gardens who hosts the GBBD.

10 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – March 2015

  1. Helen Johnstone

    I like the Phormium in the first picture. I thought oh thats a nice combination of planting, lots of structure, form and texture and then I read your comment about it and chuckled!
    Glad the narcissus are coming along OK.

    Reply
  2. jenhumm116 Post author

    Thanks Helen. I’ve inherited four phormiums and they just take up so much room and seem a bit tedious, but yes, I like that combination too.
    I’d probably never get the damn thing out anyway…..
    Sigh.

    Reply
  3. Cathy

    Odd about the irises – perhaps the supplier is at fault… Elka looks lovely – and thanks for the update on the wedding flowers!

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      I still haven’t checked the order but they do look a bit of a hotch potch, and I can’t believe I would have planned that!
      Both the wedding narcissi and muscari and now out in the garden and progressing well. I’ll keep you posted, but definitely feeling calmer now.
      Meanwhile my sister is in charge of the cake….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

