The Greenhouse review – March 2015

IMG_6107

This month in the greenhouse there’s a degree of ‘moving on’.  The Calendula ‘Sunset Buff’ (destined for the new Bronze Bed) and first wave of broad beans (Stereo) have been moved out to the cold frame.

IMG_6110

Many of the cuttings taken towards the end of last year like the Diascia  Personata (black square pots in the foreground), and the dark pelargonium (out of shot, but whose mother plant is pictured flowering today in the first picture),  are growing well and have been potted up individually.  Meanwhile, some of the original plantings of sweet peas (in the background) are growing a little too well and need pinching out.IMG_6100

The second wave of sweet peas is developing wellIMG_6103

and a second wave of broad beans and more sweet peas are filling up the right hand end of the greenhouse bed.

The green tray filled with water is what I use to soak my seed trays before sowing.IMG_6104

And, as plants are potted on or moved out, the latest wave of seeds –  tomatoes, aubergines, cucumber, melon and some hardy annuals – are taking their position on the heated propagation mat (and in the rather dilapidated propagator too).

The uncovered seed tray at the back contains the Gentian acaulis I mentioned last month.  So far only three have come up.  The planting instructions suggested a cold spell may be required but I’m not sure how that would affect the ones that have actually germinated (any thoughts?).  But something needs to be done if the Diving Lady has any hope of a Gentian pool!IMG_6105IMG_6101

There aren’t many blooms in the greenhouse at the moment, certainly none actually planned, but I can offer two.  Firstly, the simple daisy flower of the marguerite.  Like the pelargonium, this has ‘offspring’ cuttings now ready to pot on, to fill pots for a summer display, IMG_6109

and secondly Abutilon Orange Marion.  No cuttings this time, but instead I’m mollycoddling some seedlings which self sowed around the plant, were planted up last year and are now individually filling 9cm pots.  Having done that, however, I’m not quite sure what I’m going to do with six more orange Abutilons.  A hedge perhaps?IMG_6108

With thanks as ever to Julie at Peonies and Posies for hosting this Greenhouse meme.

14 thoughts on “The Greenhouse review – March 2015

  1. Helen Johnstone

    This has reminded me that I plan to join in with this meme this month. Will write this evening. As for gentians they arent that easy to germinate or even grow. Being alpines they need a cold spell and my experience is that some plants that need a cold spell may wait a year before germinating. If it was me I would seek out your local AGS show and buy some gentians from one of the nurseries that will be there or try a nursery like Pottertons

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Helen, thanks for that. I do like to try things from seed, but I think you’re right, sometimes it’s just not a very practical option Particularly when I’m trying to fill a pool!

      Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Donna, interestingly I went to a talk by Charles Dowding (which I’m hoping to post about soon), and he suggested that hardening off is a myth! Yup, came as a shock to me too!

      Reply
  2. Chloris

    So much going on in your greenhouse. I have cuttings of Diascia personata coming on. I was delighted how easy it was because I want this lovely thing all round the garden.
    Are those Agapanthus seedlings I see? I love growing Agapanthus from seed because you never know how they will turn out. They are all beautiful.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Chloris, yes, there are Agapanthus seedlings in the cold frame, planted at least two years ago.
      I planted a batch of seed which have now been planted out in both the mediterranean beds and the back of the strawberry bed, and these ones in the cold frame are the ‘others’. There was a bit of mix up with the collected seed, as one lot came from a blue plant and the other from a white plant and they didn’t get labelled. I’ve assumed that the ones that germinated better were from the blue plant, which would make the ones in the cold frame white. But who knows? None of them have flowered yet….
      How long have yours taken until flowering?

      Reply
  3. Julie

    Thank you so much for joining in with my Greenhouse Review! It is really interesting to see what you are doing in your greenhouse – much is the same as in mine – sweet peas, broad beans & peas, tomatoes and cucumbers, but there are lots of things I have never tried as well. I have never grown melons, aubergines, Abutilon or taken many cuttings. It is so good to share ideas and learn from each other – I am looking forward to seeing the changes next month brings in your greenhouse.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Thanks Julie, it’s great to share!
      I’m feeling a tad despondent today as something has eaten away at my most advanced tomatoes (Black Cherry) overnight, but as I always end up with about 3 times as many tomato seedlings as I need (I’m growing 6 varieties), I don’t suppose I should worry!

      Reply
  4. Cathy

    As Julie said, it is good to be sharing what we are doing – lots of good ideas to see in action and mental prompts too! But do tell how you overwintered your pelargonium – that’s a question I asked in my post! I too have been pinching out some of my sweet peas again today – I wonder if this process can continue right up to when we plant them out? I have only ever pinched them out once in the past.

    Reply
  5. jenhumm116 Post author

    Hi Cathy, I’ve got quite a few pelargoniums, some of which I had to dig out of a big trough and plant up in individual plastic pots to bring them inside. I cut them back (a bit haphazardly, some more than others) and I’ve just kept them reasonably dry in the greenhouse.
    And I definitely pinched out my sweet peas last year at least twice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

