View from the works

IMG_6029

Those of you who’ve followed Duver Diary from the beginning will know that one of the prompts for me to start this blog was having much more time on my hands having taken voluntary redundancy at the end of 2013.  Some of you might also remember that in my first ‘Resolve and Realise’ post I confessed to terrible procrastination and that, despite having significantly more time, I didn’t seem to get significantly more done.

Well all change!  Something’s been brewing for many a long month and I think it’s time to share – I’ve gone back to work.

Of course from a gardening (and blogging) perspective, life will get rather more complicated as work is City of London based.  And although I’ll be able to work from home sometimes, I also expect to be staying in London an increasing amount of time (but hopefully not more than three nights a week).

But at least I know what to expect.  I weekly commuted from when we moved to the island in 2008 to the end of 2013, and if I’m honest I’ve missed it.  I’ve missed the office camaraderie, the intellectual challenge, the deadlines and wearing heels.  What I’ve haven’t missed are those beautiful mornings when I crossed a sparkling Solent to the mainland, knowing I was leaving my precious garden (and family, but this is a gardening blog, remember!) behind.  But I survived, and so did the garden – and family.

And there are other positives – much easier access to London based gardening events (eg RHS London shows, talks at the Garden Museum) and of course more funds for gardening projects, which brings me to the top picture.

As a return to work treat I have had some hired muscle helping me create my two new beds. The first, opposite the Swing Beds, I’ve decided to call the ‘Half Century bed’, I’m thinking of planting largely with roses and peonies, and the second, the already half dug ‘Bronze Bed’, in front of the long table under the verandah, will be (funnily enough) bronzey orange flowers.

Now some of you might be thinking why, if you’re just returning to work, would you consider increasing the size of your garden?  But I think you’ll be in the minority.  I think most of you will know that gardens aren’t really about practicalities, they’re about dreams.

8 thoughts on “View from the works

  1. AnnetteM

    Congrats on your new job. I love the way you are concentrating more on the positives of being in London. Does the ferry have internet access? I do hope you will manage to keep up on the blogosphere. I too am wondering where on earth my day goes and finding it difficult to get motivated sometimes to do the jobs that need to be done, but your new meme is helping, with the garden jobs if not the house ones. Talking of which, I must get off the internet. . . . .
    PS – your last sentence is so true.

    Reply
  2. jenhumm116 Post author

    Hi Annette, thank you It’s funny how even though it’s going back to what I was doing, it does fell like a whole new chapter. Maybe it’s because a year away gives you a whole new perspective!
    And I do hope to continue with the blog. I’ve ‘met’ so many lovely people and really enjoyed sharing my garden experiences and visits.

    Reply
  3. Cathy

    Gosh – that’s a surprise. Best of luck with the new job and everything it entails – you are clearly enjoying it already. Even though I am on the go from morning till night it still surprises me what things I struggle to fit in which I always made time for when I was working – it must be something to do with the change of priorities – so I am sure you WILL still be able to make time for your lovely garden even though much of it is now spent elsewhere.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Cathy, thanks for the positivity! And yes, I think you’re right, it’s all about priorities, and with the chicks largely flown, hopefully I will be able to prioritise the garden when I’m home. Shame I can’t also prioritise the weather (and lucky the OH prioritises the golf!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

