Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – February 2015

IMG_5992

As in January, a strange mix of spring bulbs and rather more exotic plants are blooming.  The Grevillea above has a number of genus companions, including this one.IMG_6026

These are both outside, the first in the ground and the other in a pot that’s too heavy and too far from warmth to move.  Bearing in mind they’re (largely) Australian, do you think they’re following the seasons down under?

As well as the Iris reticulata ‘Gordon‘ featured last month, IMG_5985

this has now been joined by Iris reticulata ‘Blue Note’, providing an early pool for the Lady Diver. Although why on earth she’d want to be swimming outside this early in the year I have no idea.IMG_6020

I’m very excited to report that since last month, my Hamamelis count has increased to three. The one below is the one I think is ‘Arnold’s Promise’.IMG_6000

This has been joined by a very small  H. Jelena featured in last week’s Wordless WednesdayIMG_6012

and, as of yesterday’s visit to the Hillier Gardens, a rather more magnificent H. Aphrodite.  I’m very chuffed that Aphrodite was my Valentine treat from the OH!IMG_5987

There are more Hellebores blooming, although they’re still not good at lifting their heads.  I seem to recall last year the first ones below, in particular, became more erect as the month went on.IMG_5994IMG_5998IMG_6008

As far as bulbs are concerned, I actually have more of these (inherited) Leucojum than Snowdrops. IMG_6016

as well as many little Muscari Armeniacum ‘Big Smile‘, planted in pots.IMG_6015

My only real ‘winter interest’ shrub is the Sarcococca confusa.  Sadly this is tucked away in the shady bed, thus breaking all the rules about keeping it near the door so you can enjoy the perfume.

I have been considering digging out a large Phormium (which is near the door) and replacing it with something new for winter interest, but I just can’t decide what would be best.  I’m vacillating between Daphne/Lonicera/Viburnum.  Any thoughts?IMG_6006

One of my favourite plants flowering at the moment is this little primrose.  It is self seeded on the steps which run between the two Lavender Beds.  It’s a lovely colour, rather more ‘dusky’ than this picture would suggest.  I would love more of it, but I’m terrified to try to dig it up to divide it in case I just rip the plant from the roots (it’s growing in a very small crack).  And I’ve never seen any likely looking seeds.IMG_6004

And, in case you’re missing the sun, (as I said last month), I give you the following.

Not quite as sunny as last month’s Abutilon ‘Orange Marion‘, but this one is the better named –Viola ‘Sunny Side Up’,IMG_5982

With thanks as ever to Carol at May Dreams Gardens who hosts the GBBD.

21 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – February 2015

  1. Chloris

    Somebody else bewitched by Witch Hazels.They are so lovely. I like your hellebore and your pretty primrose. For next to your door I would plant a Daphne, it is definitely the aristocrat of the group.

    Reply
  2. AnnetteM

    You have a lot of interest and your bulbs are so much further on than mine. My Iris reticulata are not far off though. I must get some different varieties as they do well here. I wouldn’t go with Lonicera for your door, unless you have more luck with them than I do, but I can’t comment on the other two as I have never grown either. I would trust Chloris though and go with the Daphne.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Thanks Lea. Yes, I love the hellebores but I do wish they’d hold their heads up better. There’s a limit to how much time I want to spend on my hands and knees in this weather!

      Reply
  3. Andrea

    Wow some of them i have seen in my few travels to cold countries, and am glad they are my favorites, pansies, snowdrops, grape hyacinth. The moment i saw them i just love them. And your other posts like this witchhazel i just found in blogs, but haven’t really seen. They are beautiful too. And of course, grevillea is so loved in Sydney, and had it in my birthday cake during my first visit there. You gave me so much memories.

    Reply
  4. Christina

    For length of flowering time I’d plant Lonicera, but for the best perfume in the world and a slightly more attractive plant when not in flower I’d choose a Daphne.

    Reply
  5. indygardener

    I enjoyed seeing all your blooms. Spring comes early to your garden, at least compared to mine. Thanks for joining in for bloom day.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Carol, yes we’re very lucky with our relatively benign climate – I think it’s a combination of being pretty far south, but also our proximity to the water.
      Your garden will catch up and I expect your Hamamelis will still be blooming when mine are long gone!

      Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Yes I agree, the colour’s gorgeous (it was looking even better in today’s sunshine than yesterday’s drizzle), and a handout from Hilliers about many of their Hamamelis(es?) also suggested it was a reliable plant.

      Reply
  6. Pingback: Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – February 2016 | Duver Diary

Leave a Reply

