The Greenhouse review – February 2015

IMG_5979

I’m joining Julie at Peonies and Posies for a second monthly Greenhouse post.

There’s not much blooming in the greenhouse at the moment, so I thought I’d start with this little Muscari – M. Armeniacum Big Smile.  I planted up lots of these bulbs in terracotta pots and have been bringing them into the house one by one.  Whilst the flowers above are only an inch or so tall, with the blooms still tucked well within the leaves, the pot currently sitting on the kitchen table has flowers stems nearly eight inches tall!

IMG_5972

Since last month I’ve had a significant spring clean.  The tatty Sungold Tomatoes, which were still in the bed above, have all been cleared and the space has now been filled with various tender plants – pelargoniums, marguerites, a grevillea and a banana – which were previously at the other end of this bed.

Other than a big clean, I’ve sorted my seed trays and pots (no, I know I haven’t cleaned them…)

IMG_5980

I’ve continued to watch over seedlings planted at the end of last year – Broad Beans, Calendula and Sweet Peas IMG_5971

and cuttings taken last year.  The ones below have been pretty successful – particularly the Diascia personata and Lavender at the back.  As you can see, the Marguerites at the front were a little more patchy, and the Pelargonium (front right) even worse, but there are still five plants for free – what’s not to like!IMG_5973

At the other end of the greenhouse I have my heated propagation mat.  I was worried last month that this had broken, but the problem seemed to be with the thermometer unit which I’d plugged in between the mat and the socket,  Once I’d removed this and plugged the mat in directly, all was toasty again.  IMG_5981

The problem of course is I now don’t know exactly how toasty, but it seems to be doing the job as a batch of Sweet Peas planted on the 31st January are already showing brave little stems.IMG_5975

Since the 31st I’ve planted yet more Sweet Peas and Calendula (Buff Beauty for the Bronze Bed) as well as some poppies and also a Gentian, G. acaulis.  I would love to grow Gentians in the Diving Lady’s pool and I’ve read that this is the easiest Gentian to grow.  We’ll see.

There are plenty more seeds to plant this month, not only more hardy annuals, but also tomatoes and chillies.  Hopefully by next month there will be many more brave shoots to share.

With thanks again to Julie for hosting this Greenhouse meme.

11 thoughts on “The Greenhouse review – February 2015

  1. Christina

    I’m glad to see that you don’t wash all your trays and modules; neither do I! I know some say it is important but I have heard on GQT that it isn’t essential as long as the previous inhabitants of the pots weren’t diseased. I think I said last month but I am surprised you don’t grow salad leaves in seed trays during the winter. The greenhouse doesn’t need to be heated and there is nothing better than really fresh salad.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Christina, I’m sure I read that Charles Dowding didn’t wash his, and that was good enough for me!
      I’d had enough of washing having done the greenhouse itself….

      Reply
  2. Cathy

    Your greenhouse border is very different from last month, isn’t it?! 🙂 And what a healthy collection of seedlings you have got. I was intrigued to see the Diascia personata – how easy was it to grow? I admired the plant in a couple of gardens last year and bought one for myself but didn’t even think of looking out for seeds – in fact there are very few perennials I have grown from seed.

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Cathy, yes, as I said in my first greenhouse post, nothing like having ‘visitors’ to make you tidy up 🙂
      The diascias were grown as cuttings, but as you can see I think I had 100% success, so definitely worth a go later in the year if you have a ‘mother’ plant.

      Reply
      1. jenhumm116 Post author

        Hi Cathy, it was pretty late last year, I didn’t make a note but think it was actually October or even early November, however I wouldn’t recommend that!
        I reckon as soon as your plant starts putting on some good growth in the early summer would be the best time. Say May?

  3. Cathy

    You may be deluged with relieved gardeners saying thank goodness someone else doesn’t wash their pots! You are so well organised – good luck for 2015’s greenhouse year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

