Wildflower Wednesday – January 2015

IMG_5874

These photos were actually taken on Saturday because it was just such a beautiful morning.  Quite a contrast from this morning’s walk, when the wind was blowing the rain horizontally!

The picture above shows the lovely tracery of branches of our old friend, the over-the-road-oak.

Googling ‘Sea Beet’ for this week’s post, I came across the following article from the Guardian from Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall, which highlights three plants which can be foraged in the UK. All of them are growing on the Duver and looking good right now, in the middle of winter -Alexanders, Smyrnium olusatrumIMG_5882

Sea beet, Beta vulgaris subsp. maritimaIMG_5886

and Wild garlic or Ramsons,  Allium ursinum.IMG_5876

I’ve never foraged from the Duver (other than blackberries) but I’ve definitely enjoyed wild garlic.  However, that has been picked from my garden, where I’m desperately trying to eradicate it!

There really isn’t much sea beet on the Duver so I think that should be left well alone, but there must be nearly an acre of Alexanders.  Perhaps I should give that a try – according to Hugh F-W “The flavour is aromatic, fragrant – a little musky, a touch juniper-ish”.

In addition to the three plants above, I saw plenty of Winter heliotrope or Butterbur, Petasites fragrans.IMG_5880

IMG_5877

Gorse, Ulex europaeusIMG_5892

and something I’ve not seen before.  These fresh, green, sword shaped leaves were obscured by scrubby growth that was removed by the National Trust earlier in the year.  This has opened up the view and also cleared the area to allow these plants to thrive.  I think they must be Iris foetidissima, see close up of leaves below.IMG_5883

IMG_5884

Assuming that’s what they are, I look forward to seeing them all in flower.

To finish, a couple more photos – the first showing the marram grass, Ammophila,  glossy in the winter sunshine,IMG_5894

and a final one, a little nod towards spring.IMG_5899

With thanks as ever to Gail at Clay and Limestone for hosting the Wildflower Wednesday meme.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Wildflower Wednesday – January 2015

  1. Julie

    I really enjoyed your post Jenny, I’ve gotten out of sync with Wildflower Wednesday, your post is a lovely reminder. We’ve had the same weather as you today but Saturdays sunshine did make me think spring was not that far away.

    Reply
  2. Tina

    I love the Gorse–I’ve heard of it, but never seen it in “real” life. I’m not at all familiar with the Butterbur–and what a fun, common name!

    Reply
    1. jenhumm116 Post author

      Hi Tina – I mentioned both on previous posts.
      The gorse was to do with a saying my granny taught me which was ‘kissing is in season when gorse is in bloom’ (the idea being that gorse is almost always in bloom) and the butterbur leaves were apparently used to wrap butter in olden times to keep it cool!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

