End of month view – October 2014

IMG_5242

I’m joining Helen at The Patient Gardener’s end of month meme a day late, apologies!

The picture above shows the lovely Cercis canadensis ‘Forest Pansy’ peeking over the willow fence and matching beautifully with the self sown vine.  The picture was taken earlier in the week and sadly, already the cercis leaves are starting to fall.

Elsewhere in the garden there are still vestiges of summer to admire with the St Swithun Rose (yes I know it should have been tied up) arching over the swing in the sunshineIMG_5262

and succulents still flowering outside.IMG_5248

The Swing Beds are still showing some colour with penstemons, salvias and asters, but there’s a lot of chaos (certainly the climbing roses) and I still need to dig up the sisyrinchiums which are taking over the front of both beds.  I think I should also look at dividing some of the perennials, particularly the geraniums.IMG_5253

IMG_5254

The shady bed continues to look good despite no flowers.  I love the structure the caster oil plant, Fatsia japonica provides at the back of this bed.IMG_5276

In the veg patch there isn’t much to see apart from Chard (below) and a number of collapsed structures which need to be taken down.IMG_5256

With regard to fruit, there is still a small crop of autumn raspberries, as you might expect, IMG_5258

but I certainly wasn’t expecting this!  Strawberries in November – the world’s gone mad!IMG_5255

In the greenhouse I haven’t yet cropped my Mini Belle Yellow peppers.  To be honest now I’ve grown them, I’m not quite sure what to do with them.  Somehow I don’t have much need for raw peppers to add to a picnic for snacking any more….IMG_5277

Also in the greenhouse, over the last few weeks I’ve done something I haven’t done before, which is to let my Sungold Tomatoes do their own thing, unrestricted .  Having carefully pinched out the side shoots on all my tomatoes up until the end of September, I read/heard somewhere that Sungold can continue cropping until December under glass, and so, whilst all the other tomatoes will very shortly be pulled up, I’m just letting the Sungolds do what they want and then I’ll see whether I can harvest any more.

Of course one of the problems with this is that the plants are now right up to the top of the greenhouse and impossible to reach without a chair or ladder, but as they are my favourite tomato to eat raw, I feel a little mountaineering will be worth it.IMG_5278

I’ve also been busy taking cuttings of lavenders and pelagoniums.  I went to a talk at our local horticultural society recently and the speaker, one of the lecturers at the Isle of Wight college, said he always takes cutting into seed trays, and crams in 20!  I’ve always tended to put 4 or 5 around the edge of a terracotta pot, but I thought I’d try his method (although I drew the line at 12) and see how I get on.IMG_5279

Over in the ‘borrowed’ garden, the OH has been busy strimming all the brambles on the far side of the wall so that we can now see the recently arrived sheep.  There are still annuals flowering in the bed in front of the wall – Cosmos, Cleomes and Amaranthus – but the Ammi have pretty much given up.

A little later in the year, when the hawthorn trees are dormant, I’ll need to prune them into shape and tie in the required new growth.  Overall I’ve been delighted with how well they settled in since planting them at the beginning of February.

IMG_5288

And the Tithonia ‘hedge’ I mentioned in my GBBD post is also still going strong, although not quite as strongly as a couple of weeks ago.

Cathy at Rambling in the Garden queried my measurements but I don’t think I was far out. There are 11 plants and the bed must be nearly 20ft long and some of the plants are definitely taller than me (alright, not many!) and I’m 5ft 7.  Believe me now?

IMG_5283

4 thoughts on “End of month view – October 2014

  1. Helen Johnstone

    I love your first shot, wonderful colours. I will be interested to see how your cuttings do as I also usually do them in pots and my success rate isn’t good.
    Thanks for joining in again this month

    Reply
  2. AnnetteM

    Your penstemmons, salvias and asters are still keeping things going really well. You beds look much less wintery than mine do. You shady bed looks good too with that lovely piece of wood as a feature; Fatsias are good plants aren’t they. I inherited one that is really too big for my shady area, but what are you going to do? Well, I suppose I could chop it now it has established to make it bushier and less tall.

    Reply
  3. Chloris

    Still so much colour. I can’ t remember an October like this before. And now it is November and so much is still in bloom .When did you sow your tithonias? Mine didn’ t grow nearly so tall.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: End of Month View: October | My Aberdeen Garden

Leave a Reply

