In a vase on Monday – Nose twist

IMG_5141

Whilst one of the reasons I grow nasturtiums is to add a peppery twist to a salad, what I didn’t know until today was that, according to the National Gardening Association website, the name literally means ‘Nose twist’.  Any of you who have eaten one of these flowers will immediately recognise the sensation!

Today’s vase is I think the first time this year I’ve picked Nasturtium (N. Black Velvet) for a vase. Bizarrely I think my plants are looking healthier than at any previous time this year, so all of a sudden there are ample blooms to pick.  What is not ample, however, is their stem length, so I’ve resorted to my ‘vase of many bottles’ which I use very often for shorter blooms and used before for my ‘Purple Circle’ post.

In addition to the nasturtiumIMG_5153

I also picked some of my long flowering Tithonia rotundiflora ‘Torch’IMG_5146

and a few of my Fox and Cubs (Pilosella aurantiaca) which are continuing to threaten to take over the garden.IMG_5145

Not exactly refined, but very jolly on the kitchen table.IMG_5156

Please go to Rambling in the Garden to see what Cathy and others have in their vases this Monday.

8 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – Nose twist

  1. Cathy

    Such warm and strong colours indoors are just what we need at this time of year! Lovely mix and I like the look of your vase too – is it a schnaps carousel?

    Reply
  2. pbmgarden

    This is so lovely. I’ve never had much luck growing nasturtiums, but I so enjoy them. Now I definitely want to taste them to get the full nose twist effect. Susie

    Reply
  3. Cathy

    Ah…. thanks for that unexpected info about the nasturtiums! Strangely, mine have done exactly the same and have been smothered in flowers the last few weeks after only a few sporadic ones before – I keep thinking that they should show themselves off in vase but they haven’t been at the front of the queue yet! I will be interested to hear how long yours last in your lovely vase. That dark one is especially gorgeous!

    Reply
  4. Chloris

    I love your Nose Twists. When I was a child I thought that they were called ‘ Nasty Urchins’ I still think of them as that now.
    What gorgeous colours in your arangement.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

